3rd gen iPod not showing up on computer

Discussion in 'iPod' started by JCLrox, Dec 25, 2012.

  1. JCLrox, Dec 25, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2012

    macrumors regular

    JCLrox

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    #1
    I have a third gen iPod classic, 40gb, which works fine until it gets plugged into a computer. It doesn't show up in iTunes, on the desktop, or in disk utility. I have tried this on multiple computers. The iPod shows an Apple logo, and then either turns off or asks me to select a language. Once I select a language, it shows the menu and displays an empty battery at the top of the screen. Other times, it doesn't prompt me to select a language and just turns off. If it does this, I can get it working again by charging it. How can I fix this?
     
  2. thread starter macrumors regular

    JCLrox

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    #2
    Okay, I've figured out that it does sync via Firewire 400, but will still not sync over USB. Suggestions?
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Ariii

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Location:
    Chicago
    #3
    That's normal. The third-generation iPods are not supposed to sync though USB, so you'll have to keep using the original FireWire adaptor. This means that you can't use many accessories for newer models as well.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    JCLrox

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    #4
    I know these iPods can't be charged via USB, but they can be synced with USB. They could only be charged with Firewire, but could be synced with either.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Ariii

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Location:
    Chicago
    #5
    Sorry for not being clear. The original cables (The only one you can use to sync through USB, others should not work) had both FireWire and USB. The USB end is used for syncing while the FireWire end is used for both.
     
  6. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #6
    Have you tried another cable? I went through a few on my 3rd gen.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    JCLrox

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    #7
    I think I get it now! I wasn't using the original USB cord that came with the iPod, I was using an iPhone one. Is that what I was doing wrong?
     
  8. macrumors 604

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #8
    Hmm, did it work? Can't really say otherwise. ;)
     

Share This Page