3rd party ram caused random shutdown?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by beloved84, Aug 20, 2006.

  1. beloved84 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    #1
    ever since i re installed the stock ram, my computer stop randomly turning off.

    i guess the stock ram caused the random shut down, but how do i find out which ram caused the random shut down?
     
  2. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #2
    Take out the Apple RAM and start testing single sticks of the 3rd party, if only 1 of them shuts the machine down you have your faulty stick. If they both do well the RAM just wasn't made for Apple computers.

    As for getting the RAM replaced if it is certified to work with your computer you should just be able to replace the RAM as DOA, if not you really have no options other than buying better RAM.
     
  3. beloved84 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    #3

    yeah i figured thats the only way to do that... i was hoping for an alternative method, because sometimes it takes up to one day before it randomly turns off!
     
  4. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #4
    Well the only real alternative is you purchased certified RAM for your machine and it came as a pair, in that case you can send both back as a DOA set and let them work it out. If you didn't you really have no other option.
     
  5. beloved84 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    #5
    im sorry, im still new to all of this...

    were my ram not a paired? i purchased 2 transcend 1gb ram from newegg.
     
  6. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #6
    What I am saying is if you purchased Apple certified RAM as a kit of 2 paired sticks (ie you got both sticks in the same box from the manufacturer) you could send them back as DOA, if you didn't and just bought 2 single sticks you will need to do some testing. I'm also saying that if you didn't buy RAM that was certified to work with your computer the reseller has no reason to let you DOA the RAM since you purchased the wrong RAM for your machine.
     

Share This Page