4 gb ram in 17 MCP?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Proto Media, Apr 26, 2006.

  1. Proto Media macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Location:
    Gnar Cal
    #1
    I heard somewhere that you could now get a single dimm 2gb modual of ram. Assuming this is correct, do you think it would be possible to get 2 2gb moduals into a macbook pro 17 inch? Would the computer even recognize it/support it? anyone if would be appreciated, thanks.

    -Ryan
     
  2. Josh396 macrumors 65816

    Josh396

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Location:
    Peoria/Chicago, IL
    #2
    It's not possible with the RAM the MBP use.
     
  3. Kormet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Location:
    Where the land meets the sea.
    #3
  4. steve_hill4 macrumors 68000

    steve_hill4

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    NG9, England
    #4
    When you say vague, do you mean stating that "two SODIMM slots support up to 2GB" is vague. I will admit that is for the 15" model and the 17" makes no specs on maximum RAM support, but to me that is pretty clear so that can't always be vague on this issue.

    Also I recall Apple making a big song and dance about the Dual Core PowerMacs supporting 16GB RAM. How vague was that?
     
  5. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #5
    Well, that's what they have tested it for...it's always possible that it will actually work. Once someone actually tries it, we'll know for sure.

    Officially processors only run at their official speed, but just ask overclockers what speeds those chips can really do.
     
  6. Kingsly macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #6
    I was under the impression that the particular motherboard could support 2GB of RAM. How does it benefit apple to limit ram in EFI or something like that?
    If I knew I could pack 4GB of RAM into my MBP I would do it in a heartbeat.
     
  7. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #7
    4GB of RAM in a MacBook Pro, that would be awesome. :)


    Someone with a little extra cash, give it a try please. ;) :)
     
  8. Peyton macrumors 68000

    Peyton

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #8
    That would be possible with the merom chip that supports more memory since its 64 bit, or just wait until 2gb chips are ready and suitable for it. I think since dell has them, it will put pressue on apple to at least offer them. but expect $500-$1000 more tho:(
     
  9. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #9
    Good point, the new Dell XPS laptop can hold up to 4GB RAM and it has a Core Duo processor. Perhaps, the MacBook Pro can hold more than 2GB of RAM...... :)

    Although, the 2GB of RAM limit sounds like more of a logic board limit than anything else. :eek:
     
  10. Mammoth macrumors 6502a

    Mammoth

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #10
    Assuming the Powermac G5 has 8 full size DIMM slots, could it have 16 notebook slots, and have a 2GB module in each, for 32GB..?
     
  11. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #11
    I could not possibly see Apple (or anyone else for that matter) using SODIMM slots in a tower machine. Although, if a machine with a 64-bit processor (such as the G5 or upcoming merom/conroe/woodcrest processors) had 16 slots and accepted 2GB DIMMs, then it could be expanded to a whopping 32GB of RAM. :)
     
  12. vgoklani macrumors regular

    vgoklani

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    #12
    how many slots does the Dell XPS have? 2 or 4?
     
  13. Peyton macrumors 68000

    Peyton

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    #13
    2, but they make 2gb chips that work in it = 4gb total
     
  14. vgoklani macrumors regular

    vgoklani

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    #14
    do they use the same type of chips as the macbook pro?
     
  15. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #15
    Yep, they both use the Intel Core Duo.
     
  16. NYmacAttack macrumors 6502

    NYmacAttack

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    NY
    #16
    The 4GB upgrade on the XPS is ~$2300 and there is a 22 day delay on it as of now. Talk about an expensive upgrade.
     
  17. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #17
    Is there some sort of ramdrive utility for MacOS?
     
  18. vgoklani macrumors regular

    vgoklani

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    #18
    actually, my question was - do they both use the same type of MEMORY chips? :eek:
     
  19. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #19
    Sorry, I misunderstood you. :eek:

    Both the Dell and the Apple MacBook Pro use 667MHz DDR2. :)
     
  20. rockandrule macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    #20
    Haha, are you saying that's not a good deal? ;)
     
  21. mmmcheese macrumors 6502a

    mmmcheese

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #21
    It could come down to the underlying power supply to the RAM. I don't know this for sure, but the 2GB sticks may require higher voltage or amperage which is out of the range of what Apple has tested for. This doesn't mean it won't work, it's just not guaranteed. Many things are unsupported, but still work fine...this could be one of them.
     
  22. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #23
  23. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #24
    No, it comes down to whether the memory controller of the machine can count that high --- literally, if it doesn't recognize the number of rows and columns, it can't use the higher capacity RAM.
     
  24. steve_hill4 macrumors 68000

    steve_hill4

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    NG9, England
    #25
    By which time Merom will be out and 4GB will be too low. ;)
     

Share This Page