4 GB RAM in MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by jne381, Sep 6, 2006.

  1. jne381 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Location:
    Grand Rapids
    #1
    With Apple giving the ability to put 3GB of RAM in the new iMac, do you think it will bump up the RAM capacity in the MacBook Pro to reach 4GB?

    Also why can't they put 4 GB of RAM in the new iMac? I believe it has 2 slots for memory, why does Apple only give the option of upgrading one to a 2 GB stick?
     
  2. Foggy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    I believe it is to do with some restriction in the 32 bit OS that can only address 4gb of memory in total (including video memory).

    I could be totally wrong though.
     
  3. LionsKiss macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Location:
    HK
    #3
    From Wiki
    I guess they want people to go with Mac Pro for the power hungry buyers?


    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/64-bit
     
  4. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    A 32-bit machine can support more than 2Gb or RAM (the total memory space is 4Gb, but some of this is need to memory map peripherals and so on, normally 3Gb of RAM should be possible). On the MBP there is some restriction in the hardware, or possibly the firmware that limits it to 2Gb. People have tried using 2Gb SO-DIMMS. Using a single one is fine, 2 does not work (does not even try and boot the OS). One 2Gb + one 1Gb also does not work.
     
  5. ZoomZoomZoom macrumors 6502a

    ZoomZoomZoom

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #5
    Maybe they don't have enough 2GB sticks of 'Apple RAM'? I have no clue though.
     
  6. Foggy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
  7. BackInTheSaddle macrumors regular

    BackInTheSaddle

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Location:
    Olympic Peninsula, WA
    #7
    Somewhere I read that the 2GB limit is the result of an issue with Intel's EFI (or perhaps, Apple's implementation of Intel's EFI). Does anyone know definitively why the MB and MBP cannot support more than 2GB?

    I would really love a laptop that could have 4GB of RAM...would really mitigate some of the resource constraints when running any apps with Rosetta.
     
  8. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #8
    Physical size and heat.
     
  9. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #9
    I wonder what the folks over at XLR8yourmac.com would say to a 4 GB (2X 2GB )
    memory hack. Sure sounds like fun! :D
     
  10. generik macrumors 601

    generik

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    Location:
    Minitrue
    #10
    Could it be fixed in a laptop firmware update? Or could Apple be using the old version of Napa chipset for the new Core 2 chips?
     
  11. mikesk8 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Location:
    Helsinki
    #11
    For iMac its a natural limitation - iMac = consumer product. If you want to have more you are forced to buy Mac Pro. Laptops its a different story..Pro ones are not so Pro; maybe because they didnt have time in Jan to make them better:p
     
  12. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #12
    I think Apple is just being morons, but if there's a logical explanation as to why, then I'll take that back. However, it's not the first time they have crippled their own machines. I just have some doubts that they'd cripple their MacBook Pro.
     
  13. jamesborr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    #13
    Proper support for 4GB requires...

    Folks,

    3 things are needed for proper support of 4GB of memory on a laptop:

    • 64 bit capable OS (good to go)
    • 64 bit capable CPU (good to go with Merom)
    • >32 (usually 36) bit Chipset (who knows when)
    The problem is that there are a whole series of devices, requirements, etc. for memory below 4GB. These elements typically add up to approximately 1GB, and thus mask or hide everything above approximately 3GB of memory. Thus, even if Apple removes the currently limit of 2GB, they are powerless to make more then 3GB of memory available at the OS level, even when they upgrade the CPU to Merom. Intel's latest greatest mobile chipset (maybe this will change sometime next year) is only a 32 bit chipset (I guess they think it is still 1999). With a 1000% premium on 2GB SO-DIMM's (versus 1GB), it's a little annoying to have half of the second stick go to waste.
     

Share This Page