4 Hours Working On A Fcp Vid...unable To Open Project File? Help!

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by jayeskreezy, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #1
    I just spent the last four hours trying to complete a project i'm working on only to have it for some reason not open up. I've been autosaving and regular saving often. Something was wrong with it so I shut it down and didn't select save (I'd been saving it all night and autosaving it so I thought that was fine) and now I can't open my file.

    I tried to open final cut pro first and restore the project using AutoSave and it's saying 'Unable to Open project'. Is there ANY hope for my last four hours of work? PLEASE help!

    I have FCP 7.
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #2
    Do you use Time Machine?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    #3
    No, I've never used it before. How would I use that?
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #4
    If you haven't then unfortunately it won't help you in this case. Time Machine can do automatic hourly backups of all your files to an external hard drive, completely in the background. You'll have the Time Machine feature if you're running at least Leopard. But like I said, it won't help you right now.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    #5
    Did you try the version right before the last autosave? it should have shown you several versions available to restore.

    Also, make sure you haven't run out of disk space ( < 10GB ) on your boot drive. I've seen that happen where lack of disk space caused this.

    Your files should all be there still unless there is something wrong with your system, but from the way you were talking, it doesn't seem like there's anything wrong outside of FCP.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    #6
    Same problem..
    Pretty much exactly as the original poster...
    The project file I have saved is showing "ZERO" kb.. how's that even possible.. Every new project I start, this is what's happening.. I have enough space on my drive..

    Can anyone help, using FCP 7..

    5 hours of work, gone. Was constantly saving and "autosaving". I personally feel the autosave is where the problem is, I could be wrong though..
    Help...!!!!
    Not using TimeMachine.
     

Share This Page