4 Mics and 4 Headphones into a Mac

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by jimmy8, Jun 24, 2013.

1. macrumors newbie

I need a very simple solution here. I have a Macbook Pro 13". I also do a radio show on Blog Talk Radio once per week. I'm about 80 shows in and have some offers to start doing some remote broadcasts. I need a very simple solution that I can plug 4 - 3.5 or 1/4" microphone jacks into and 4 - 3.5 or 1/4" headphone jacks into. I don't need some extravagant audio mixer as this will be strictly for talk and no instruments. Any non extravagant suggestions as i want to keep this as easy as possible and somewhat portable. I'm willing to pay up to $1,000.

2. macrumors regular

3. macrumors 68000

I've been using one of these for a few months and have been very happy. Street price is less than $200. 4 mic inputs but only one headphone output. There are plenty of inexpensive boxes you could use to connect multiple headphones though.

http://www.akaipro.com/eiepro

4. ChrisA, Jun 25, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2013

macrumors G4

This is very easy to do. But the cost of four decent mics and four decent headphones will use up at least of your budget.

try one of these:
    http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/AudioBox44/

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Scarlett18i8/

And then you'd need a good headphone distribution amplifier that can drive four headphones -- I assume you all want the hear the same thing, not four different mixes?

This one is good and worth the money
    http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/HP4/

You would do all the mixing and filters and so on inside the computer (using Garage Band or Logic) but you do need the level controls on each mic and each person will want their own volume control for headphones. SO the above system would be ideal for you. Set up some acoustic anti-reflective stuff on the walls so the reflected sound does not get into the mice

5. macrumors 68000