4 processor workstation

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by tonytox99, Jul 27, 2002.

  1. tonytox99 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    #1
    Now that OS-X is out, what's holding Apple back from offering a 4+ processor workstation? If they did offer one, what would the beast cost?
     
  2. menoinjun macrumors 6502a

    menoinjun

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    #2
    It seems to me that Apple would release 4 processor servers before workstations.

    -Pete

    Don't hold your breath
     
  3. shadowfax0 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #3
    Hey, if it did, SGI and Sun would really have to start looking over their shoulders. And also, no PC manufacturer would be able to compete, XP Pro offers supports for only dual configurations, then which one would be faster huh? Between that and a dual PB, the MHz Myth would be over, sure an AMD is fast than one G4, but what about 4?! ::supresses evil laugh:: Phew, getting a little excited there :)
     
  4. Mr. Anderson Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #4
    well multiple processors are great - but you still end up paying for the power. And there is a limited amount of space to put processors inside a machine - and the heat sink? whoo baby, that would be a big one.

    But one type of chip we'll eventually see in the near future <10 years will be a multiple CPU on a single chip - as the manufacturing process gets the size of CPUs smaller and smaller, a 8 CPU chip or even 16 CPU chip is possible. As long as the OS supports multiple CPUs there's no reason not to use them. I'm still waiting for the day I can do realtime radiosity of one of my animations....

    Now that's ludicrous speed!

    D
     
  5. vitruvius macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    #5
    i hope God can hear you!! Radiosity is really a pain in the @ss!!:p
    maybe in the future i will tell to my Grandchildrens: "yes, and we have to wait sometimes even 2 days for a single image to render, now your iBox does that in realtime!!" -"no way grandpa, your must be kidding!!" :D
     

Share This Page