480p/1080i RP HD-ready TV and the 360

Discussion in 'Games' started by zelmo, Jul 29, 2006.

  1. zelmo macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #1
    I have a Panasonic 47WX49 RP CRT TV with two component connections (no HDMI), which will output in either 480p or 1080i. I read somewhere that the 360 signal is 720p, which my TV does not natively support? True? If true, would that mean my TV would downscale to 480p (that'd suck) or upscale to 1080i?

    Would I get a an actual HD quality picture from my HD-ready TV (that is 4 years old)?
     
  2. huck500 macrumors 6502

    huck500

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Location:
    Southern California
    #2
    I have an RCA F38310, which also has component inputs and does not accept 720p. I set the 360 to 1080i and every game I've tried is definitely high definition, it's not a problem at all. I have a feeling that the console up-converts.

    One strange issue I have is that when the TV switches modes, it doesn't successfully switch every time. Sometimes the image is garbled. Switching the tv on and off usually solves this problem. It's a known issue with my tv, yours should be fine.

    Edit: Found this on some tech site:

    http://forums.xbox-scene.com/lofiversion/index.php/t415408.html
     
  3. wwooden macrumors 68000

    wwooden

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    #3
    I will have to say though, as someone in the same situation, that i think the games do look their best in 720p. I have a phillips which can only do 1080i HD and then I hooked my 360 up to my dads 42" Plasma 720p tv and the games were so clean and crisp.

    But it will still look great in 1080i, don't get me wrong. I would take that any day over 480p.
     
  4. zelmo thread starter macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #4
    Thanks for the informative post and link, huck500, and also to you, wwooden, for the reassurance.

    So, are the HD component cables that come with the premium system good? Or do I need to upgrade them (in consideration of the fact that I'll be in 1080i, not 720p anyway)
    I'll need to bring my own optical cable to the dance, right?
     
  5. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #5
    Just look at the back of your 360 games.

    If it lists 720p only, then when playing at 1080i your 360 upsamples the image, HOWEVER - 95% of Xbox 360 titles list both 720p/1080i on the back, which means the game NATIVELY supports 1080i resloutions.
     
  6. huck500 macrumors 6502

    huck500

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Location:
    Southern California
    #6
    The cables seem fine to me... but I haven't compared with any others. It looks great to me. You do have to have your own optical cable.
     
  7. Abulia macrumors 68000

    Abulia

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Kushiel's Scion
    #7
    Depends on the set, its native resolution, and the quality of its internal scaler.

    You can not make this blanket statement for all sets at 720p vs 1080i.

    To the OP, you're fine. The 360 will scale it for you. Also most games natively support both 720p AND 1080i.
     

Share This Page