4G 20GB: won't mount, displays Apple logo

Discussion in 'iPod' started by zelmo, Apr 19, 2006.

  1. macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #1
    My daughter brought over her iPod last night, looking for help. Sadly for her, I was the only one there. The iPod display shows the Apple logo. If you hold down the menu/play buttons, after a few seconds you can feel the drive working, then the display goes blank for a second, and the Apple logo comes back. When the Apple logo comes back up, if I hold down rev/ff buttons, nothing happens.

    The iPod would not mount on her PC via Firewire. I hooked it up to my iMac and it doesn't mount, but system profiler recognizes that there is an iPod attached via Firewire.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. thread starter macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #2
    anyone? Bueller?:eek: (shameless bump, delete the thread if you want to, O Mods of Kobol)

    I suppose a trip to the Apple Store is in order, then.
    I just know I'm gonna walk out of there with another new iPod (for me, give the kid my 4G 60GB), and then the video iPod will come out 1 day beyond the point I could return and exchange.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    sunfast

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Does it show up in disk utility or iPod updater? (a bit obvious / useless - sorry if you've already tried them)
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #4
    sorry. Should have included this info in my original post:

    Disk Utility does not see the iPod.
    iPod Updater says "waiting for iPod to be ready," whatever that means.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    lozanoj83

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Location:
    Southern California
    #5
    Well theres no good news here. but ill say it anyway.. my friend had a iPod that did the exact same thing... it just spun spun spun and with the apple logo.. i connected it.. gave me the exact message as u.. the problem with it was the harddrive.. it was bad.. i opened it, put it a spare iPod hd i had.. and it magically worked.. so if youre under warranty replace it...
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #6
    Boot into Disk Mode. Reset first by holding down Menu and Select for about 5-10 seconds. As soon as it resets, hold down Select and Play, and then once it says Do not disconnect, connect it to your computer and restore using the iPod Updater.

    Edit: seems like you already tried this. If so, call Apple
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    gammamonk

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #7
    My 3G 40GB did the same thing after I tried installing OSX on it. I've heard you can do that, but it hosed my iPod up before the install even finished.

    Anyway, I did what kainjow said, and it fixed it. Force disk-mode, and run the ipod updater. Works fine again. (Tho my new Nano is way awesomer)
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 603

    zelmo

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Location:
    Mac since 7.5
    #8
    I left the iPod plugged into my iMac at work yesterday for a few hours and the display changed to "do not disconnect." I was encouraged. I opened iPod Updater, and it recognized the iPod. My only option, though, was to restore to factory settings. The option to update was grayed out, maybe because the iPod is formatted for her Windows PC?
    Anyway, I gave the non-functioning iPod back to her with instructions to plug it in overnight and call me this morning if she had the DND screen and was able to update the iPod. If not, I'll take it to the Apple Store after work Saturday.

    Her real issue is that her step-brother screwed up her computer a few weeks ago, and she had a friend wipe it and reinstall, and she never backed up her 18GB's of music. If she loses the iPod (or has to restore) she loses her music.
     

Share This Page