500GB Lacie d2 extreme VS. 500GB Lacie Big Disk Extreme

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by Temujin, Feb 22, 2007.

  1. Temujin macrumors 6502a

    Temujin

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #1
    I'm deciding what drive I should get. I'll be using the drive for video editing and a bit of storage.

    The Big Disk has 16mb cache, where the d2 only has 8.
    - Would I notice a difference?

    I have two d2 drives, they're daisy chained, and I would like to add the new drive to the chain.
    - I gather The Big Disk would fit in the chain with no problems at all, right?

    I quite like the compacter d2 ones, would fit right in with the two I've got.
    A noticeable performance increase might make me reconsider.
     
  2. MovieCutter macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #2
    Probably not a lot of performance difference. But the Big Disk has two drives which makes it twice more likely to fail.
     
  3. rjphoto macrumors 6502a

    rjphoto

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #3
    I have the Big Disk 500. It's performance is great for video editing.

    One problem I have with it is that it only has 1-FW 400 connection. Since all of my other drives and computers are FW 400 this was a problem when I first got it and was trying to edit some video at home on the 12" PB with only one FW 400 port for the camera and external drive. I ended up using an old iMac DV 400 Mhz to capture the footage to the External Drive and then edit on the PB.
     
  4. peterjhill macrumors 65816

    peterjhill

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #4
    Lately, I have been all about 3.5 inch drive enclosures and buying my own drives.. I picked up a 500 GB hd for $179 at Frys and spent about $50 on an enclosure with both USB2.0 and eSATA. I have a MBP and could easily pick up an expresscard esata interface if I wanted super fast disk access...

    What I liki about the enclosure is that I can easily upgrade the HD if I want something new.. I know have just under a terabyte of raw storage at home.. Plenty for both backup and use...
     
  5. Temujin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Temujin

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #5
    Thanks guys. Didn't realise the Big Disk had two drives, I'll probably get the d2 version then.
     
  6. rjphoto macrumors 6502a

    rjphoto

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    #6
    Mine is a LaCie d2 BIG DISK EXTREME.

    Is there just a d2 that is not a BIG DISK and/or EXTREME?

    If so what's the difference?
     
  7. KarlEdmunds macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    #7
    Not completely true, besides are these disks in a raid array? That would be a really useful.
     

Share This Page