6 irritating things about 10.6. Have they been fixed in LION?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by javideslomao, Apr 4, 2011.

  1. javideslomao, Apr 4, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2011

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    #1
    Hi forum, these have been long standing annoyances in Snow Leopard. Anyone knows if they have been fixed in 10.7 (Lion)?

    1. Lack of "Maximize" keyboard shortcut. Mapping a shortcut to the "Zoom" menu doesn't work if the "Zoom" menu is actually named something else or has been translated into another language.

    2. Will programs die after I close their last window? I mean, yes, idle programs lurking on the dock are really fast to load, but lots of them hog the memory, slow the computer down, and make the original point moot.

    3. Keyboard shortcut to switch between windows, not applications (without paying extra for Witch). I know I can use Exposé (F3) and then arrows, but the way Exposé sorts windows is not productive. I really need something like Witch, built-in.

    4. Deleting something in Finder (CMD+DEL) and moving the cursor takes me to the top of the list. What?? Why can't I just stay where I was?? [EDIT: can be worked around by switching to Coverflow view in SL, thanks AdeFowler]

    5. Can I select a number of non-contiguous files with my keyboard in Finder? Say you want to select files 7, 12 and 19 on a list. On Snow Leopard, you're forced to use the mouse.

    6. Can I uninstall applications cleanly? Dropping an .app to the Trash will left everything else behind (libraries, extensions, changes in /etc files, files in /usr/local, etc.)

    Please avoid answers like "You can't. Macs don't have the counterintuitive xxx feature", or "Why would you ever need that", etc. I've been using Macs since they looked like a shoebox and my frustrations have persisted all this long.

    Thank you!
     
  2. Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #2
    I haven't used Witch in a long long time and even then only for a trial, however you can cycle through windows natively already by "Cmd+~".
     
  3. Hansr, Apr 4, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 7, 2011

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    #3
    This doesn't work straight away on many international keyboards. You need to redefine the shortcut in Sys Prefs but at least it works after that.

    That should work, I think that might be more of a bug with international system settings rather than a lack of a feature. Have you tried sending Apple feedback on this?

    I don't think letting the system control for applications explicitly being closed when you close the last window is a good idea as it runs counter to the way many people used their computers. I think Apple will not move away from you have to explicitly exit the application. Of course some programmers (including Apple, iLife apps etc) do this for their applications but personally I wish they didn't.

    So remember the state of a deleted object. I think from a fundamental perspective this doesn't happen because the object does not exist within the folder from the Finder's point of view and therefore to jumps to the beginning/end. I doubt Apple will change this behavior as it is just that a behavioral choice and they seem to have chosen this result rather than the one you want. Have you tried some of the Finder alternatives and see if they implement this feature?

    This is interesting, how is this handled in other OSes that do this? Can't see why Apple wouldn't add this if enough people request it. Again might be in Finder alternatives too.

    Completely agree. I think this might be coming with Lion or future iterations as Apple moves to the totalitarian App Store application deployment model.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    PurrBall

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #4
    Well, some programs now, such as Preview and TextEdit, will die once all windows are closed and you switch to another app.
     
  5. javideslomao, Apr 5, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 7, 2011

    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    #5
    Never tried sendind Apple feedback, no. I'm hoping they read MacRumors :) This is not an i18n issue. There are keys for minimizing and hiding. There's no reason why zooming shouldn't have its own. Since it doesn't, you need to resort to kludges like mapping shortcuts to menu items, but that works only so often. For example, the menu item for zooming in Terminal is named "Zoom". On my spanish version of Chrome, though, is named "Activar Zoom". And, of course, Chrome doesn't zoom when I hit the "Zoom" keys.

    I don't buy that. Apple is all about changing users' habits, the latest and greatest of which is making people switch from netbooks to tablets. If I'm done with a program, dammit, I want it to die. If the OS wants to keep it around so that it loads faster next time, do it transparently. GCC (the command-line compiler) does it that way. When it's done compiling, it stays around for a few seconds. If you call it again, it runs super-fast because it has everything pre-loaded. But if you don't use it for a while, it just silently dies.

    And, by the way, have you never typed something by mistake on a windowless app thinking you were somewhere else (Safari, etc.)? :)

    No: remember the state of the previous and the next objects. Then drop me off on either one depending on whether I pressed up or down. I have tried a few Finder alternatives, but I'd rather not pay extra to have that fixed.

    On Windows, it works like I explained earlier. Maybe they're holding a patent on that behavior, who knows...

    I really hope uninstall doesn't come at the price of App Store tyranny.

    Yeah, you can remap it on international keyboards. However, try this on 10.6: open a PDF with Preview. Then open up a couple of JPGs. Then, try to switch windows. Mine gets stuck at the PDF and won't switch back to the JPGs :confused:

    I guess the error is, again, leaving the window switching implementation to the application, when it's the OS that should take care of it.

    Yay! Looks promising. Did you get to try any of the other annoyances, particularly the keyboard-related ones?
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #6
    It does work in some international keyboard.
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    tkermit

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    #7
    CMD + > and CMD + < work for me by default.


    Seems to work fine here, on Snow Leopard.


    That's almost exactly what they're doing with Lion:

    The system automatically manages apps and conserves resources by closing apps that are not being used.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    panoz7

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    #8
    I think this should be left up to the developer. I don't want my mail app to quit after I close the last window, nor do I want safari to quit if I have something downloading in the background.

    In general the apps that I actually would want to close on their own (textedit and preview were two good examples) aren't exactly resource intensive. I'd actually prefer that programs like photoshop and indesign keep running when I close the last window -- if I haven't intentionally quit them it's likely that I will be using them again soon.

    If you don't mind, could you explain exactly how this works in other OSs?
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    Maybe they could give us the ability to Cut and Paste in finder -_-
     
  10. macrumors 68030

    tkermit

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    #10
    Yes, maybe.
     
  11. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    My understanding is that with Lion, Apple is abstracting program state so that, from the user's perspective, there is no difference between idle and closed programs. If an idle application is hogging too much memory, OS X will request that it close (a la iOS); if the app is coded to support Resume, its data in memory will be written to disk, and loaded back the next time you switch to the app.
     
  12. macrumors regular

    Halvard

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #12
    Download AppCleaner. Its a free application that delete all the files. Just drag the application into the box and its gone. You can also delete plugins and other things! :)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  13. jake4ever, Apr 5, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 7, 2011

    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Location:
    Ma'on La'oved, Hadera, Israel
    #13
    I've used this program since 2008, it works fantastically.
     
  14. macrumors member

    v5point0

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    #14
    CMD + Q

    CMD + `

    AppTrap
     
  15. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    #15
    do you have something against a mouse? you seem to ask all about keyboard only shortcuts to do things....
     
  16. jeanlain, Apr 6, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2011

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #16
    I recall there was a way to configure that in Snow Leo, in the keyboard preference I believe. But I can't do it in Lion. Has anyone found were to edit the shortcut?

    EDIT: Found it in "Keyboard in Text input" section.
     
  17. javideslomao, Apr 7, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 7, 2011

    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    #17
    AppCleaner is good, but it's just a workaround. Some packages won't show up in AppCleaner because they're neither an application nor a widget. Some others will make changes to system files (/etc, ...), add extensions to /System/Library and that won't get reverted either. It's really unfortunate we don't have proper package management in Lion at this point of the 21th century.

    Not particularly, but a keyboard is much more productive once you get used to the shortcuts. Example, to fire up Calculator with the keyboard:

    CMD + SPACE, "Calc", Enter.

    I dare you do that faster with a mouse :)

    No, that shuts down the whole App. It's different than shutting down the App when I close its last window.

    No, that switches windows within an App, not windows globally. Plus, it doesn't even work while I'm on this reply textbox in Chrome. Ok, I'll confess: I want the same behavior as the Windows task switcher :)

    No, that's just like throwing an App to the trash with its prefs. Kexts, libraries, changes to system files, etc. are left behind.
     
  18. macrumors 68030

    tkermit

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    #18
    May I suggest switching to Windows :p
     
  19. Hansr, Apr 7, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 7, 2011

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    #19
    http://manytricks.com/witch/

    Wait... what? What is the difference?
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #20
    Move down to the dock and click.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    #21
    No, too many viruses and no trackpad inertia :)

    But I do agree that Windows has always paid equal attention to keyboard and mouse usability.
     
  22. macrumors 68020

    AdeFowler

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Location:
    England
    #22
    This works in Coverflow view in SL.
     
  23. javideslomao, Apr 7, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 7, 2011

    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    #23
    On Windows you keep CTRL pressed and move with the arrows. Then hit SPACE to select the file under the cursor.

    WOW. It does!!! Coverflow sure stays enabled from now on!
     
  24. macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #24
    You need to switch to Windows. Apart from the last point, I don't se an issue. I do hope that Apple will not change the way an App is closed, it is one of the great things I love about OS X.
     
  25. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    #25
    Ok, let me elaborate on how I find annoying to have one shortcut to switch between windows and another one to switch between Apps. Sometimes I need to switch back and forth between one window and another. One can be an OpenOffice spreadsheet, another is Chrome: I need to use CMD-TAB. But if I want to switch between an OpenOffice spreadsheet and an OpenOffice document, I need to use CMD-`. :confused:.

    Besides, like I pointed out earlier in the thread, CMD-` doesn't even work in some circumstances:

    • Open up 2 JPGs and 1 PDF in Preview. CMD-` switches to the PDF and won't switch back to the JPGs. Someone tried and it worked... Well, I keep trying on my SL 10.6.6 and it doesn't.
    • CMD-` just doesn't work in Chrome while I'm typing on this textbox. It just prints the character `.

    Someone else has confirmed that the behavior is changing in Lion. At least Textedit and Preview are dying after you close their last window and switch to another App.
     

Share This Page