60 gig macbook- 38 gigs free?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Nuks, Sep 26, 2006.

  1. Nuks macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #1
    Hey

    I just got my macbook, and after setting it up and everything, there is only 38.3 gigs free. Anyone know if this is normal, how much OS X usually takes up, and what to do to fix it (if there is indeed a problem..)?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Shadow macrumors 68000

    Shadow

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Location:
    Keele, United Kingdom
    #2
    I upgraded my MacBooks HD for this very reason. How got over 70GB free :D.
     
  3. j26 macrumors 65832

    j26

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    Paddyland
    #3
    Some of the apps are seriously heavyweight, such as GarageBand and iDVD.
    There are trials of iWork and Office in there.
    There are a couple of gigs of drivers for printers etc thrown in for good measure
    There are dozens of languages you will never use.

    Remove the ones you don't use and you will have a lot more space.
    I'm getting my MB tomorrow and will be searching about here to decide on the best way to do these things. I'll post back with links to the threads I find (you could do the same).

    I want a nice clean install.

    Edit:
    This thread says it all. A reinstall will be the best way to slim it down on a fresh machine.
     
  4. savar macrumors 68000

    savar

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    District of Columbia
    #4
    Ditto what everybody else said, but also don't forget that HD sizes are advertised in different units than the software sees them in. For the purposes of advertising, 1 gigabyte=1,000,000,000 bytes, but software typically defines 1 gigabyte= 1,073,741,824 bytes (= 1024^3).
     
  5. Nuks thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #5
    ^ yeah I know. There was originally 55 gigs free, now there's only 38.
     
  6. rdrr macrumors 6502a

    rdrr

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Location:
    NH
  7. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #7
    I'm going to insert my standard warning for Monolingual users. If you have an Intel Mac, be sure NOT to let Monolingual strip the System frameworks from your machine...all non-universal programs running under Rosetta will cease to work and you will have to do an Archive and Install to reinstall your OS and get them running again. This issue is mentioned in Monolingual's FAQ, but in my opinion don't do nearly enough to warn users about this and set this option to "off" by default.
     
  8. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #8
    How big a difference does cleaning off those languages make?
     
  9. Fearless Leader macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2006
    Location:
    Hoosiertown
    #9
    1 or 2 gigs O_O and idvd and garageband thats about 4 or 5. All i had when i reinstalled was the core operating system, x11, xcode, iphoto. Got it down to a 3 or 4 gig install.
     
  10. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #10
    don't work on a new system until after you've reinstalled OSX yourself - minus the languages you don't speak, the apps you don't use, the printers you don't have..etc etc. this frees up a TON of space.

    a stock install takes up SO much more space than it should.
     
  11. evanrousso macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    #11

    I need to get rid of these languages too, i dont want to use monolingual and risk messing up my system. Is there any other way that osx lets you delete these langauges
     
  12. Nuks thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #12
    i did the fresh install, but it said tht the printer drivers took up 0 kbytes. i didn't install them anywa, but I've still the same amount of space as before


    and as for the poster talking about stripping the frameworks for rosetta, how do you turn that option off?
     
  13. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #13
    Monolingual is the best tool I've found for doing this. Just make sure you uncheck all of the options in the Architectures pane to be on the safe side:

    Picture 1.png
     
  14. mrichmon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    #14
    Then you probably failed to click the "Customize" button just before the installer started performing the install. The button is to the bottom left of the installer window at one of the steps just before the installer starts performing the installation. This "Customize" button brings up a list of items to install including a range of printer drivers (numerous 100s of MB), languages and other options. Trimming down the elements on this list can slice a few GB off your installation size.

    The details are on page 8 of http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/Tiger_Install_Setup_Guide.pdf
     
  15. ScoobyDoofus macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Location:
    Galway, Ireland
    #15
    Total mac noob here, suppose I only keep the printer drivers I need now, how easy is it to add a printer driver if I buy a new one in a few months?
     
  16. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #16
    Generally you can just download the most up-to-date drivers directly from the printer manufacturer's web site.
     
  17. mrichmon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    #17
    Or you pop in the OS X install disc and install the extra driver that you need.
     
  18. Nuks thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    #18
    Is there a way to check if I've deleted all the printer drivers without having to re-install the osx?
     
  19. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #19
    I tend to keep the printer drivers and stuff like that on. I do print at uni, and have been able to print easily from all sorts of printers because my computer already has the drivers for that printer and every other device. :)
     
  20. thebeephaha macrumors 6502

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle WA
    #20
    If u have an Intel mac you don't want to kill them all...
     

Share This Page