64 bit Handbrake I have it.

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by munkees, Sep 5, 2009.

  1. macrumors 65816

    munkees

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #1
    Today

    I had a movie to rip, first one, since I have upgraded to SL. So I decided that I want 64 bit version, it was very very easy to build, the instructions are on the handbrake website, follow them.

    so far it seems to be running fine, I am not expecting it to run any faster, and probably does not offer any thing new, I just did it for the hell of it.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    #2
    Congratulations?
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    #3
    are you in 64 bit mode?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 65816

    munkees

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #4
    no the kernel is in 32 bit mode, I just rebuild handbrake to be 64bit.
     
  5. macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #5
    can you run it in 64bit in leopard? or is this a dumb question
     
  6. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #6
    You can run 64-bit GUI applications in Leopard.

    There's a 64-bit snapshot already built.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 65816

    munkees

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #7
    I found out that handbrake is having trouble decrypting movies so I am now building VLC in 64bit to solve.
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    MovieCutter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #8
    And what does 64 bit Handbrake give you over the original, non-time-wasting-to-patch version?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 65816

    munkees

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #9
    probably nothing, this is an excise to make a 64 bit working version, to learn from.
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA. USA
    #10
    Could not find the link on Handbrake website for 64-bit version

    I could not find the link to download 64-bit version of Handbrake, as you have stated.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Ice-Cube

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    #11
    Originally Posted by munkees
    Today

    I had a movie to rip, first one, since I have upgraded to SL. So I decided that I want 64 bit version, it was very very easy to build, the instructions are on the handbrake website, follow them.

    so far it seems to be running fine, I am not expecting it to run any faster, and probably does not offer any thing new, I just did it for the hell of it.
     
  12. macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #12
    Is there an OpenCL/GCD-optimised version in the works? THAT would be nice. :D
     
  13. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #13
    You'd have to ask the x264 dev team.
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #14
  15. thread starter macrumors 65816

    munkees

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #15
    The only problem I have had with the 64 bit handbrake, is you need a 64 bit VLC to decrypted the DVD, I have tried to build a 64 bit VLC, but all the supported libraries needed, I have to build individually, and some of those libraries need other libraries, it get to be a pain. This is being difficult I might swap to using fairmont to copy on to the HD then using HB.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #16
    No.

    GCD is of no benifit to HandBrake.
    OpenCL is up to the x264 devs. I don't think we'll see any OpenCL optimizations for a year or so. (Assuming it actually works out at all)

    From testing, the 64bit can be up to 5~10% faster compared to a 32bit SVN build.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 65816

    munkees

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2005
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #17
    I also noticed it was a little quicker too, little being the word.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    pacmania1982

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #18
    Agreed, I can't wait for OpenCL video transcoding apps - sure would speed up adding stuff to my library!

    HURRY UP ALREADY! :D

    pac
     

Share This Page