7300GT SLI in Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by D3LM3L, Sep 7, 2006.

  1. D3LM3L macrumors regular

    D3LM3L

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Location:
    Detroit
    #1
    Hey in a couple months I might buy another 7300GT from Apple (their kit) for my mac pro. When it comes, it'll be just the baseline 2.0GHz w/ the BT module installed. I got it for gaming purposes, along side a Mac desktop (replacing my 2.7GHz G5).*

    I know both would work fine in Mac OS X, and would they also work under SLI in Windows? What card would the performance be comparable to?
     
  2. nutman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    #2
    i dont think you can sli the cards. the system doesnt have dual x16 pcie lanes and i dont know if they make pci sli cards.
     
  3. D3LM3L thread starter macrumors regular

    D3LM3L

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Location:
    Detroit
    #3
    I read that you simply configure the lanes to 8x each, and the SLI only works under Windows- Mac OS X just sees them as two individual cards. I'm just asking for confirmation as to if this would work.
     
  4. Macinposh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    Kreplakistan
    #4
    I remember reading about that on the apples discussion forums,you might want to check out there?Dont remember if somone was allready trying it or had allready done it..

    http://discussions.apple.com/

    Apparently you could dedicate the ports as 8-8 instead of 16.
     
  5. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    This was done a few weeks ago in Boot Camp. There are some special nVidia drivers floating around that do not require an SLI enabled motherboard for SLI to work. Also I think the 7300GTs have an SLI connector on so if you get one of those on eBay you'll have slightly better performance.
     

Share This Page