7457 in the Powerbook 17 inch?

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Feb 27, 2003.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    Messages:
    7,175
    #1
    MacBidouille claims that they suspect that the Powerbook G4 17" will utilize Motorola's new 7457 Processor.
     
  2. macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,901
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #2
    Finally? :p

    Poor Moto... poor Apple! IBM will put you out of your misery someday! (Moto, not Apple... ;) )
     
  3. t^3
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    175
    #3
    The specs for the 17" pBook show that the L2 cache is 256k and L3 is at 1MB, while we all know that the 7457 has 512k of L2 and 2MB of L3. I really doubt Apple would be cutting back on the cache on its top of the line laptop.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    wsteineker

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Messages:
    727
    Location:
    Montgomery, AL
    #4
    Let's all not the use of the term suspect in MacBidouille's claim. It doesn't appear to be based on anything so frivolous as actual fact.
     
  5. macrumors 603

    Dont Hurt Me

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    6,052
    Location:
    Yahooville S.C.
    #5
    Could happen but didnt motorolas say the 7457 was not going into mass production until 4th qtr this year? If it does come out great. only problem is that it should have been introduced last year.
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    MacCoaster

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    725
    Location:
    Washington, DC / Rochester, NY / Lexington, NC
    #6
    I think it's bogus because:
    1. 256K cache
    2. 7457 production isn't even going to be in full swing until late this year
      [/list=1]
      I will be going to the Apple Store to play with the 12" and 17" PowerBook to see which one is right for me soon. I could check to verify its a 7455 or earlier.
     
  7. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #7
    Wasn't that the one that used only 10 Watt? Fits good in a Notebook, may be the Battery Life ist a lot longe through that, even if I don't want to see Moto Processor anymore, too slow...

    greets
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    NicoMan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    712
    Location:
    Malmö, Sweden
    #8
    You sure about the actual 17" specs for L2 cache? I have yet to see it. I am not saying that you are wrong but MacBidouille suggests (I am french so I can tell) that the lack of L2 information on the 17" (as opposed to actual information on the L2 cache on the 12") would point to the 7457...

    Now it might be wishful thinking... (early store prototypes could be running on 7455s. They are pin compatible and the battery life thing is not important in a store where they have it plugged in all day long)

    NicoMan

    PS: the 10W figure is for embedded appliances. For an embedded appliance rating, the important thing is power consumption only (with low voltage). It doesn't mean that the chips cannot go to higher frequencies. Those chips are very likely to be rated to higher voltages, hence higher frequencies, but to the detriment of power consumption, which then doesn't apply to embedded appliances... Macs maybe?
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    NicoMan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    712
    Location:
    Malmö, Sweden
    #9


    1. Pre-production samples for Apple stores could be on 7455s read my post above so even if you were to start the System Profiler you would be reading 256KB L2 cache but that still wouldn't mean anything.

      NicoMan
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    NicoMan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    712
    Location:
    Malmö, Sweden
    #10
    Those chips are very likely to have a 30-40 Watts rating. Which would mean that low voltage equals 1 GHz and 10W. At the other end of the spectrum, you can have higher voltage (1.5 to 1.8V) which then equals to 30-50W and frequency of 1.42 (PowerMacs anyone???) to 1.8GHz or more.

    Does that make any sense ?

    NicoMan
     
  11. t^3
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    175
    #11
    I'm just reading what it says on http://www.apple.com/powerbook/specs.html.
     
  12. macrumors 6502a

    NicoMan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    712
    Location:
    Malmö, Sweden
    #12
    I can't believe I missed that doc (apparently, MacBidouille missed it too). But the pdf specs of the 17" do not mention the L2 cache, as opposed to the 12"... I guessed wishful thinking played a big part in this.
    But I can't understand why Apple would delay their 17" for another month/month-and-a-half... If not for a production problem with the 7457... (I might be drunk, but I'm not completely stupid... DOH!!!)

    NicoMan
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    90
    #13
    could be reason for the long delay? maybe they wanted to distance the 17 from the 15 more so that when they updated the 15 it wouldnt just be minor adjustments that wouldnt bring in many sales. prob. wrong tho
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    393
    Location:
    San Jose
    #14
    No ;)
     
  15. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    san francisco
    #15
    mac store demo 17"

    hey, I went to the apple store in emeryville last week & they didn't have any demo units of the 17" - I asked about it & the guy said he didn't know when they'd be in.

    Do other stores have them? I'm itching to order one but I gotta make sure it's not too insanely massive.

    I played with the 12" a bunch just for kicks, man - the bottom of that puppy gets super toasty!

    -G
     
  16. macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,309
    #16
    The San Diego Apple store has a 17 inch powerbook. I got to hold it, pick it up, hug it. EVERYTHING EXCEPT TURN IT ON! Those butt-munches...

    They said that they wont turn it on because its not "configured". I think otherwise...
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    san francisco
    #17
    17" demo

    I called the emeryville store yesterday and talked to a guy who said he had a "demo" unit in the window that couldn't power up. Under extensive questioning he said that he expected a fully-functioning unit in the store in 1 week.

    whatsz that about?

    -G
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    NicoMan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    712
    Location:
    Malmö, Sweden
    #18
    Re: 17" demo

    They can't power them up. Nobody can. People would go to the system profiler and see the size of the L2 cache... You know that!!!

    NicoMan
     
  19. macrumors 68010

    evoluzione

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,002
    Location:
    down the road, that's where i'll always be
    #19
    i heard that they're going to be available as of March 10th. So my Apple guy at MacMall says.
     
  20. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    :: sfbay.ca :: All bay, all day.
    #20
    Our delivery date through MacWarehouse was Mar. 10, but today it was changed to "early March." I'd be (pleasantly) surprised if we get it in March at all, frankly.
     
  21. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    10,297
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #21

    Attached Files:

    • 17.jpg
      17.jpg
      File size:
      6.8 KB
      Views:
      348
  22. macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,307
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #22
    Re: a bump

    interesting, every xbench result I have seen so far from the results database returns that the chip is a 7455.
     
  23. macrumors 65816

    G5orbust

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,309
    #23
    Re: Re: a bump

    maybe it doesnt have the indentifcation tags yet to identify it as a 7457?
     
  24. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    10,297
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #24
    Re: Re: Re: a bump

    Or maybe that's because it's not a 7457 or a 7455, it's a 7450 as the above picture clearly states.
     

Share This Page