8 Core Handbrake Encoding...

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by markfc, Jun 26, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
    #1
    Ha Ha, just had our new Dell Poweredge Server in.

    Dual Quad Core 2.0ghz...

    Thought I'd have a play encoding some movies on it!!!

    It's a little bit faster than my iMac.... ;-)

    I'm now tempted to get a Mac Pro....
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 604

    TheSpaz

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    #2
    Umm.... no.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    AliensAreFuzzy

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #3
    No way you're even close to using all of you processing power. You should pull up task manager and look at the processor utilization
     
  4. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #4
    I get 65-80 fps for the AppleTV preset on my Q6600.
     
  5. macrumors 65816

    bacaramac

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #5
    I thought I had read about six months ago on either MacRumors or the Handbrake forums that quad core will use 100% and 8 core will only use 70% of all the processors.

    Someone was commenting that it was nice to encode and still have plenty of processor power left for other tasks on their 8 core Mac Pro.
     
  6. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Cuidad de México
    #6
    Like running another instance of Handbrake? :D
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #7
    Exactly, HB is most optimized for up to a four core processor, realize that not all of the encoders are as optimized as others. x264 is the most optimized and multi threaded. The muxers are not multithreaded at all so the muxing phase will be slower, also the deinterlacers have crappy optimization so if your deinterlacing that is your bottleneck.

    eddyg, one of the HB devs that has an eight core can get better speeds using two instances of HB. Also remember, do not interlace unless you have to.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    #8
    What are the rest of the machine specs? Ram? HDD ? etc.

    I have a spare Dual - Dual Core 2.0ghz Opteron server with 4gb ram, 160gb 7200rpm SATA drive etc. I may use to do some encoding.
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    cohibadad

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    #9
    With one instance of HB on my octo MP I get 100-120 fps using CQ 65% VFR on and I can use the computer for all other needs without any hiccup. I'm afraid to peg the meters with two instances.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
    #10
     
  11. macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #11
    Handbrake uses multiple processors?
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #12
    Encoding on a Q6600 is nice...
     
  13. macrumors regular

    Kurfer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #13
    My mac pro 2.4 8-core is getting around 181fps average for handbrake encodes. Loving it so far!
     
  14. macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #14
    Where did you get a 2.4 Mac Pro?
     
  15. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #15
    She doesn't. She just likes to make things up.
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Kurfer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #16
    Sorry I meant to say 2.8ghz.
     
  17. macrumors regular

    Kurfer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #17
    What the **** is your deal? You're the angriest little message board warrior I have ever seen!
     
  18. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #18
    Well, if you were a little more experienced in these forums you'd understand that not only am I quite helpful to others when I can be, but that I also don't like people with poor manners, such as yourself.
     
  19. macrumors regular

    Kurfer

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    #19
    Wow you're one tough internet dude! I bet you roll your cigarettes up in your sleeve! :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page