8-Core Mac Pro? Now?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by StealthRider, Jan 7, 2007.

  1. StealthRider macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #1
    On CNet's front page, there is a link to a Sony VAIO PC that recently debuted at CES - boasting, among other things, a Blu-ray burner. The good folk at CNet decided to compare it to the mac pro, and ended up making an interesting slip: "The VAIO RM has a single Core 2 Duo processor to the Mac Pro's pair of dual core Xeon chips, Sony has only two processing cores to the Mac Pro's eight."

    Of course it's probably just a typo...but it makes you wonder doesn't it? ;)

    Linky
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dllavaneras macrumors 68000

    dllavaneras

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    #2
    Do you think they know something we don't? TIME once leaked word of an upcoming iPod... :rolleyes:
     
  3. StealthRider thread starter macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
  4. Quboid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    everywhere
    #4
    I would liek to think we know more than time, especailly about iPods.:D
     
  5. StealthRider thread starter macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #5
    Ha well...Time rules the world, apparently - they have the power to determine the most important person of the year and everything! :eek:

    :p
     
  6. Quboid macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Location:
    everywhere
    #6
    If i remember correctly, i was that person. For last year that is.:p
     
  7. StealthRider thread starter macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #7
    Oh...if I had a dollar for every time I'd heard that crack... :p

    Anyway, back on topic...:)
     
  8. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #8
    ZOMG OCTOCORE! :eek:



    Seriously, Ars put a pair of quad-core Xeons into a Mac Pro months ago, and it worked fine. This will be a natural progression (and probably an option).
     
  9. StealthRider thread starter macrumors 65816

    StealthRider

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Location:
    Yokosuka, Japan
    #9
    Yeah but expensive - it'll be Quad-Quad-Octo just like the DC PowerMacs; if it even happens before WWDC ( :rolleyes: ) that is.
     

Share This Page