8! different temp readings, can this be true?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Temujin, Nov 11, 2006.

  1. Temujin macrumors 6502a

    Temujin

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #1
    Just installed Hardware Monitor and the app shows 8 different temp readings listed below.

    SMART Disk
    Ambient Air
    CPU A Temperature Diode
    Enclosure Bottomside
    Graphics Processor Chip
    Graphics Processor Heatsink
    Main Heatsink
    Memory Controller

    I get a measurement on every single one of 'em.

    Can the MBP really measure all these different temps?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. Temujin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Temujin

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #3
    You serious? I thought laptops had a much lower number of temp readers. Like max 3.
     
  4. gr8tfly macrumors 603

    gr8tfly

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    ~119W 34N
    #4
    I don't have my MBP yet, but, those should be right.

    My PBG4 1.67 17" has:
    Battery
    Power Supply
    CPU Bottomside
    CPU/Cont Bottomside
    Trackpad
    Hard Drive
     
  5. Temujin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Temujin

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #5
    Well that just blows my mind.
    You wouldn't find that many temp readings in a PC laptop would you?
     
  6. SiliconAddict macrumors 603

    SiliconAddict

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #6
    yes you would. Intel has been anal about the # of sensors it puts into its mobo for years. You should see some servers. The HP Prolient series makes this look like nothing. What has kept OEMs from doing this for years is price. In most regards you simply don't need that many sensors. *shrugs*
     
  7. Temujin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Temujin

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #7
    Hmmm.....it seems a bit excessive, my ASUS/Nvidia PC has two.
    But hey if you want 8 temp readings it's fine by me.
     

Share This Page