8 Hard Drives...

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Unverrich, Aug 2, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    Hello everyone.

    I have 8 Hard drives filled with Apple TV Content. Six 1TB's and two 750GB's. They are all internal HD's and have them in 4 enclosure kits that hold two HD's each. Well, I am sick of it showing 8 HD's mounted to my Mac in sidebar so I wanted to get one big enclosure kit that can hold all 8 HD's at once and have 1 large HD.

    What can I buy?

    I dont want to have to erase all my HDs to format them for the RAIDs or whatever that is.

    What options do I have?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Chris Rogers

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    my house
    #2
    drobo?
     
  3. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    #3
    The Drobo will reformat the hard drives.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    #5
    Xserve raid from ebay??

    Room for expansion and aluminum matches the apple tv.

    Might be a tad loud....
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    Chris Rogers

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Location:
    my house
    #6
    true...buy an external, transfer, and return the external after everything is setup?
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    Nice! If I got this it wont erase any of my HDs? It will just look like one big 4TB drive mounted to my mac right?
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Location:
    Northern VA (outside DC)
    #9
    with almost 8 TBs of stuff do you have a backup? If you can't find anything to fit 8 drives they make 2tb internal drives. Or maybe the Western Digital 4tb externals...
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Erendiox

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #10
    Without being able to erase the drives, your options are pretty slim. Even if you took all the drives and put them into an 8 bay array, they'd still appear as 8 drives without reformatting. There's probably a way of concatenating the drives through software so that they appear as one large volume, but again, that would require reformatting. In a nutshell, without reformatting the drives, I don't know of any way to make them not appear as 8 volumes.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    Hmmm..... ok. Sounds like Im going to have to reformat them all. I just wanted to save time. Moving all that info will take forever.

    One more question. I use an iMac, is there any kind of adaptor or anything to make a eSata cable to USB?
     
  12. thread starter macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
  13. thread starter macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #13
  14. macrumors 6502a

    Erendiox

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #14
    At first I was going to say that it doesn't exist, but I'm wrong. Look here.

    It's amazing how much I end up learning on these forums.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Erendiox

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #15
    Keep in mind, while the adapter will work, you're dumbing down the speed of eSata to the speed of USB2.0. A big reason that you'd get that kind of a multiple bay Raid enclosure is for speed and by using USB you're throwing that advantage out the window.
     
  16. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    He's got an iMac, he hasn't got that advantage anyway;)

    A direct attached NAS with Gigabit Ethernet would probably be fastest you can get on an iMac wouldn't it? Otherwise it's FW800.
     
  17. macrumors 6502a

    Erendiox

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #17
    Hehe, yea there's no way around it with an iMac. I was mostly suggesting that perhaps that enclosure is overkill for the OP's needs.

    I believe Gigabit Ethernet is technically faster (1000Mbps vs 800Mbps), though The firewire architecture may make FW800 a more desirable choice, even with the speed difference.
     
  18. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    Cali
    #18
  19. macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #19
    If you want to transform multiple drives into "one large drive", you will overwrite the data, regardless of the system used.
     
  20. macrumors G3

    rhett7660

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny, Southern California
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Location:
    Cali
    #21
  22. macrumors 65816

    orpheus1120

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    Malaysia
    #22
    Is there any 4-bay kit that does JBOD? Unlike the OP, I would wish to have individual drives show up. :D I wish to have a 8-drive setup.

    As oppose to having 4 x 2-bay, a 2x 4bay setup will only need 2 power adapters instead of 4.

    I've asked a CS officer in OWC, and he told me there's no 4-bay kit that support JBOD. Anyone has any recommendation?
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #23
    Check the links in my 1st post above, they can take 4 drives JBOD or individually. Although they are from a European retailer, I'm sure the items will be available elsewhere under a different brand name.
     
  24. thread starter macrumors regular

    Unverrich

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #24
  25. macrumors 6502a

    reebzor

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #25
    What is wrong with buying a drobo pro and a 2tb harddrive?

    All you would have to do is: Copy the contents of one drive to the drive in the drobo pro, then throw that drive in there and repeat until you are left with all of your media in the drobo and an extra 750gb lying around. Then when you need more space just put out that other 750 and throw another 2tb in. It's super easy
     

Share This Page