800 Mhz Ti or 1.33 Mhz 12.1"

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by chamberlain, May 16, 2004.

1. chamberlain macrumors newbie

Hi, I have the opportunity to purchase a brand new 12.1" 1.33 powerbook with 512MB RAM & combo drive for $1450. basically this guy just bought it but lost his job, so...

that is about the absolute most I can spend.

Otherwise I can get an 800Mhz Titanium 15" with 512MB, Airport and a combo drive for $1199.

I would like the bigger screen (I am a designer) but I have a G4 tower at home. I hope that the 12" screen would not drive me nuts. The Ti has gigabit ethernet, a full DVI port and the bigger screen, but I don't know about the delicate hinges and the flaky paint. and of course it is $250 cheaper.

The 12" is the latest and greatest, which I don't necessarily need. I am quite apprehensive about the durability of the titanium powerbooks.

I'm sorry that this is all quite jumbled. To the people here at macrumors, please, what is the better deal. I am in a dilemma.

2. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

QCassidy352

the 12" is by far the better deal. $1200 for an 800 mhz tibook is crazy. You could get a 1 Ghz ibook for less. yes the Ti still has some nice things, but it's also lacking in a lot of areas - AE, BT, USB 2.0, graphics card, among others. It's also way slower and gets worse battery life.

Since you have a desktop, the case for the 12" is even stronger. A big-screen laptop only makes sense when it's your only computer, IMHO. Since you'll only be using this while on the go, portability is key.

Bottom line is that $1200 for that tibook is nuts. If you really think you won't like the 12", look for a better deal on another 15" laptop, but don't buy that Ti.

3. JOD8FY macrumors 6502a

JOD8FY