802.11n on MP 1.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by CountBrass, Nov 8, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #1
    I'd like to add 802.11n to my MP1.1. Internal would be preferred or a USB solution I can plug into the back of my Cinema Display.

    Looked in my local PC World and was told the Linksys/ Cisco and NetgearUSBs wouldn't work with a Mac (I suspect this isn't true).

    Suggestions?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    #2
    I'm pretty sure they would work, especially now that 802.11n is finalised. Best bet is to get one from a store with a return policy.When it's plugged in you may have to set it up in the internet section of system preferences, as in add it in to the list of interfaces.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #3
    TP Link

    TL-WDN4800

    Wireless N PCI-e card works OOTB
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #4
    Thank you both.

    I ordered the TP Link card :)
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Why not use Apple's internal solution? Works for me...
     
  6. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #6
    The TP link card is better than Apples..
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #7
    I'm also looking to put 802.11n in my MP 1,1....

    Is there somewhere I can find which TP Link cards are compatible? Are they all compatible OOTB in OS X?
     
  8. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #8
    The TP link card I posted is compatible OOTB..Where to get them I dunno. I get them from K&M Computers locally. Their wired NIC's are also compatible..
     
  9. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #9
    If you don't want a bunch of junk hanging out the back of your computer, just get a replacement that has N.

    I can confirm that it adds N support and doubles link speed.

    I got mine for all 3 Mac Pros, it is an exercise in frustration snapping all 3 antennas on, but worth it.

    Here is one for $7:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Genuine-020...532?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item257bc27164

    I got 4 of these for $20 each, all 3 I installed worked perfectly.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/450M-Apple-...US_Internal_Network_Cards&hash=item2c6939bed1

    Have a look inside your Pro. While there are only 2 antenna plugs on existing Airport card, there are 3 wires.....
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    #10
  11. macrumors 6502

    Colpeas

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Rep.
    #11
    Wait, there really are 3 wires for wifi? I thought there are 2 + 1 for BT, but never actually had a chance to look inside. So how is it, really?
     
  12. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #12
    I updated in all 3 models of Mac Pro.

    They all had Airport Ext cards from Apple and they had 2 wires hooked up, one still shrouded in plastic. The new cards I linked had 3 ports.

    You can verify the doubling of wireless speed with Network Utility, in your App folder.

    So for $20 you get faster wireless, and no wires or USB dongles or antennas using up a PCIE slot.

    But honestly, I think most of those MBP cards with N would work as well.

    Cheap, needs no drivers, utilizes all 3 built in antennae. It's a win-win.

    I have no affiliation with this seller, I'm not even sure that's the guy I bought it from.

    But I think the $8-15 MBP cards work as well.

    All use built in Apple software.
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    Giuly

    #13
  14. macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #14
    I ended up getting the 4800, I'll post back if it works. It's for my 1,1 with 10.7.x.

    It seems like it will get better reception than the internal ones, plus I don't need the PCIe Slot for anything else so that's not a big deal.

    If it doesn't work, I'll go for the MacVidCards solution
     
  15. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #15
    I prefer the ugly antenna's and better reception..
     
  16. macrumors 68030

    slughead

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #16
    CONFIRMED

    TL-WDN4800 works in 10.7.5 out of the box. Great reception, too
     
  17. macrumors 601

    GermanyChris

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2011
    Location:
    Here
    #17
    It's the go to for Hack's
     

Share This Page