8GB iMac for sale in Amazon w 1.5TB drive

Discussion in 'iMac' started by NightSailor, Dec 12, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502

    NightSailor

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #1
    http://www.amazon.com/APPLE-iMAC-Al...1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1229146195&sr=1-1


    I was planning on trying 8GB of Ram in my girlfriend's iMac once it comes in. Now I know it will work. If it is for sale on Amazon, it must be working well.

    This is BIG. 8GB of Ram is a decent amount of memory. I once loaded every application I had on my Mac Pro and could not get it over 9GB of memory. Perhaps if I loaded a lot of big graphic images I could have gotten it higher, but it is unlikely I'd get it much above the 16 GB of RAM in there.

    I came to the conclusion that a reasonably fast iMac or MacBook Pro with 8GB would be a sweet combination that would support video editing well.

    So here is is, and I applaud it! Good for the guys at Techno Intelligencd for putting it together.

    Now as for me. I can do it much cheaper. I'll do it myself.
     
  2. macrumors 604

    Cave Man

    #2
    Until someone demonstrates that 8 gb will function without loss of performance, I wouldn't buy such a computer. The MacBook Pro stalls with 8 gb once you pass 4 gb of used RAM. I suspect the iMac is the same since it is built on the same chipset.
     
  3. macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #3
    I just passed on the 1.5TB Seagate because of the known issues.
     
  4. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    8GB of RAM doesn't work in the current iMac line, and the Seagate 1.5TB drive is a worthless piece of crap. Mine dismounted and deformatted itself constantly (every 20 minutes or so).

    And why would you want to buy this iMac now with updates imminent?!
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    #5
    This is not offered by Amazon -- it's offered by a third-party seller. I expect they haven't even tested it. It's a loaded configuration being sold for more than the cost of the machine and the components; in other words, sucker bait. :mad:

    So far, no one has successfully used 8GB of RAM in any Santa Rosa- or nVidia-based Mac. I haven't seen reports of failure in iMacs -- only in MacBooks and MacBook Pros -- but I'd be very surprised if this works.

    If someone can try 8GB in an iMac and confirm that it fails (computer gets very slow as soon as more than 4GB of real RAM is used) then we should all head over there and leave reviews warning people not to buy this product.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #6
    ^+1

    The machine can be had for $2000, + 8gb RAM and the hard drive, $2300 max.

    Thats if it even works.
     

Share This Page