933 or dual 1000?

Discussion in 'Hardware Rumors' started by video activist, Feb 4, 2002.

1. video activist macrumors newbie

Feb 4, 2002
    I'm a student filmmaker looking to buy my first Mac. I'll primarily be using the machine to run FCP and other DV editing software. I've got $3000 to spend. Which machine should I get? If i go for the 933 I could have $$ left over to buy things like a wide angle lens for my GL-1 and other things (flat panel display, RAM, drives, etc). If I go for the dual 1ghz I'll have a screeming machine that won't be out of date quite so quickly and will render video effects faster.

Which machine?

Another question: does the new video card in the G4s allow you to hook up two monitors without any extra hardware?

Ready to buy....
  2. mac15 macrumors 68040

Dec 29, 2001
    go the dual 1000, FCP3 support MP like the dual 1000
  3. kishba macrumors 6502a

Dec 11, 2001
    the video cards on ALL new g4s support dual monitors (one apple display w/ADC and one normal vga monitor)

i have an 867 instead of a dual 800 b/c os 10 makes fcp fast enough for me and it let me use money and max out the ram, add another hard drive and buy the beautiful 17 apple lcd--it's the BEST monitor i have ever owned

i also bought an ipod... you have no idea how useful this is as a student... i can listen to music on the way to school and take my files to and fro

i love apple

oh yeah read my sig and you'll see what happened to me
  4. madamimadam macrumors 65816

Jan 3, 2002
    The dual 1GHz would be SOOOOO good but, realistically, wouldn't it be better, if you have no more than $3000, to get more RAM and more HD space... esp. if you want to do a lot of video editing. Those HDs sound HUGE but you know just as well as I do that once you start doing video work it looks tiny all of a sudden. Also, the 933 is MORE than capable of giving you nice speeds for FCP.

Lets think realistic not "man, I would LOVE one of those"
  5. Digidesign macrumors 6502

Jan 7, 2002