9600 mac

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by cdbstudios, Mar 16, 2004.

  1. cdbstudios macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a problem, kind of. I have used all my pci slots and would like to add USB to my computer.

    Does anyone have any suggestions?

    Thanks,

    Zach
     
  2. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    What else do you have in the PCI slots? Anything that can go? Double up with another card?
     
  3. cdbstudios thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    #3
    Slot 1 Mix card for Protools
    Slot2,3,4 DSP Cards for protools
    Slot 5 Video Card
    Slot 6 SCSI Accelerator Card

    Is there a board out there that is 9600 compatible and has the ability to have USB on the board hardwired?

    Thanks,

    Zach
     
  4. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #4
    you would have to get one of those cards out.
     
  5. cdbstudios thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    #5
    Darn, that's what i thought. Oh well, no USB for me.

    Thanks anyways.

    -Zach
     
  6. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #6
    If the ProTools stuff is for line or midi input, you could get USB devices to do those tasks. It's more money but you'd free up a PCI slot.
     
  7. gribouille_A@ma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Nantes, FRANCE
    #7
    Hello, A french opinion, Simply buy an USB HUB, which one will be connnected to one USB port and offer you 4-6-8 more ports, it doesn't exist in england ?
     
  8. applemacdude macrumors 68040

    applemacdude

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2001
    Location:
    Over The Rainbow
    #8
    The 9600 doesnt have any USB ports and if you wanted to have USB on that mac u had to put a PCI USB card
     
  9. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #9
    In order to use a USB hub he'd have to get rid of one of his PCI slots, replace it with a USB PCI card, and then plug the hub into that. He has no USB right now.
     
  10. gribouille_A@ma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Nantes, FRANCE
    #10
    I'm sorry, :/ but i haven't fully read thes post's
     
  11. chv400 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #11
  12. ibookin' macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #12
    If he got the Trio he'd likely have to replace the SCSI drives he has attached to that card. It depends on if he's willing to do this.

    Anyway, it's good to see a 9600 still in service. Perhaps Apple should make an "Ultra-Pro" edition of the G5 with 6 PCI-X slots for people like this?
     
  13. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #13
  14. Mord macrumors G4

    Mord

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    what about an extra case which can house more pci cards and drives ect cant remember where i saw one thats mac compatible but i did i was pissed because you needed a pci slot in the first place so no luck for cubes
     
  15. cubist macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Location:
    Muncie, Indiana
    #15
    I agree, removing the SCSI board sounds like your best option. Question tho, are you using the video card for a 2nd monitor? Doesn't the 9600 have a fairly good on-board video?
     
  16. gribouille_A@ma macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Nantes, FRANCE
    #16
    I was thinking, the motherboard may have ide controller, so you can buy addptators to connect scsi drives on the motherboard, and then free a pci slot, No ?
     

Share This Page