A bit disappointed with macbook Pro performance

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hdsalinas, Jan 20, 2007.

  1. hdsalinas macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #1
    I have been playing with my macbook pro C2D for about a month now. I got it mainly to replace my aging Pentium4 desktop that I built almost 4 years ago.

    I am starting my freelance design business and I wanted something that was more powerful and portable. I have installed Adobe CS2 on it and although I was expecting a hit in performance since is not universal, it is so slow that is practically unusable. Illustrator is slow and very unstable. It constantly quits by itself.

    PS CS3 is a lot better but it doesn't feel much faster than CS2 running on windows through bootcamp. Actually I am amazed how good windows runs on this mac. CS2 is really fast.

    Maybe I was expecting too much from the mac OS. Somehow I thought that it would increase my productivity. I realize that there may be a learning curve involved as I still have to learn my way around OSX (Although I used OS9 in college). Also I need to wait to see how CS3 performs when it is actually released.
     
  2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #2

    Yes. Yes, you do.

    I'm sorry but the issues of running CS2 on Intel hardware are well-known. Transitioning at this stage, particularly for a start-up design business, is ill-advised. That's why we won't make our Intel transition at work until mid-2008.

    Don't blame the Mac OS for something Adobe haven't yet addressed. Let the buyer beware.
     
  3. adrianblaine macrumors 65816

    adrianblaine

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Location:
    Pasadena, CA
    #3
    How much RAM do you have? I have 2 GB and dreamweaver running under Rosetta runs about as fast as it did on my iBook G4. I've been running Photoshop, Illustrator, and InDesign on Windows to avoid the performance hit... But Rosetta is a memory hog, so the more the better.

    If you want to see how fast universal version of CS3 is running, they are offering a free beta to CS2 users...

    Just remember that Rosetta is translating the binaries as the program is being run. I'm actually amazed at how well it actually does.
     
  4. hdsalinas thread starter macrumors 6502

    hdsalinas

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Location:
    San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    #4
    I only have 1GB but I am thinking to add 1 more GB.

    I love the mac os, dot get me wrong. Is just that I am ashamed to admit that for now Adobe apps run better on windows.
     
  5. L3X macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    #5
    if you're running any Pro Apps like that, 2 GBs are always recommended in my opinion.
     
  6. extraextra macrumors 68000

    extraextra

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Install 2GB. CS2 will still bekind of slow, but not unusable.
     
  7. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #7
    Got to have two

    I know just what you mean, I felt the very same way... So I contacted OWC and ordered a 1gig stick and boy what a difference. HUGE... totally happy now...
     
  8. djinn macrumors 68000

    djinn

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    #8
  9. heehee macrumors 68020

    heehee

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Location:
    Same country as Santa Claus
    #9
    You will need 2 gigs of ram. I use CS2 everyday in the office, and it's definitely usable.
     

Share This Page