a computer for home and a laptop for when on the go

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by IllTakeAnApple, Jul 13, 2005.

1. IllTakeAnApple macrumors member

I’m new to the world that is apple, but however have found myself monitoring a few forums for the last month just to see if it would be a good idea to for me to jump in. I’m a PC user, which means I don’t know a thing about computers i.e. out of the normal specs & when I hear gigahertz or megahertz I get all excited. I’ve come to realize Mac users really enjoy using their computers and I have yet to come across someone who would go back strictly to their PC’s after using an Apple. After all of that being said I’ll get to point of my post. I’ve been looking for a laptop for about 3 months now and it took only a month to realize Apple is the way to go! I wont really be gaming since not only are Macs not really designed for gaming but also laptops in general are not for gaming. So in order to get the best of both worlds I’m thinking about either getting an Apple laptop ibook/Powerbook and then a PC for my stronger applications (few) and games, or possible getting a PC laptop and something like a Mac Mini/iMac for home. I would only go with the latter setup because I’m new to the whole world of Mac and am wondering if I should jump in slowly. So my question is what would be best for a student heading off to college who wants to do so much but is willing to flex?

2. Eevee macrumors 6502a

Eevee

3. Capt Underpants macrumors 68030

Capt Underpants

I've found that a Mac laptop and a PC gaming desktop is the best combination, at least for my needs :)

4. IllTakeAnApple thread starter macrumors member

Well i went to compusa a week ago and i really liked the ibooks and even more than them i loved the powerbooks! The imacs are a little steap it would leave me with no money for a wintop which probably isnt the worst thing ever.

5. Likelife macrumors newbie