A confession.

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by aquajet, Jan 6, 2006.

1. aquajet macrumors 68020

I thought about posting this in a different forum, but at this point, it's beyond troubleshooting tips. I need to confess that I committed murder, no, macslaugter against my parents' iMac.

You see, my parents expressed interest in DVD creation before Christmas, and I suggested adding an internal DVD burner to their iMac (which is a G4, BTW--some of you may know how much of a bitch it is to work on those). So we went to Best Buy and purchased a Sony burner on sale (a great deal, actually). I proceeded to disassemble the iMac, swapped out the drives, and reassembled the machine. Now, I've got plenty of experience working on these things and many others, so I'm able to do this job virtually with my eyes closed. Everything went well, and we fired the thing up. Everything works great -- until we attempted to burn a CD in iTunes. Halfway through the burn, the poor iMac freezes. Now...persistent crashes or kernal panics are one thing -- but with OS X, a complete freeze up (mouse is completely unresponsive) is something of great concern. I tried rebooting, but the screen remained black. I had to unplug the iMac to turn it off. I tried starting it again, but it booted into open firmware and would freeze after that. Seriously concerned at this point, I disassembled the iMac again and verified that everything was in place. Everything looked good, the thermal pipe (for those who don't know, the thermal pipe is a cooling device for the processor -- small "pipes" transfer heat away from the chip, and terminate by mating with the faraday cage, which acts as a radiator with the fan expelling the heat from the top of the dome) was properly mated with new thermal grease applied. I reassembled the machine, turned it on...nothing. No boot chime, no hard drive spool up, just the fan running. I checked and re-checked all components...the drives, memory, etc. It's now officia