A couple n00bish questions

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by astrogiblet, Jun 16, 2006.

  1. astrogiblet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    #1
    Well.. I'm not new to mac, I've been with mac for almost two years, but I have a few questions..

    First off, will a one gig ram stick thats made for a pc work in a mac? I've got a 12" ibook g4 if that helps..

    Second, in firefox pictures never show up on webpages.. like if I go to myspace and try to view someones page, no pictures show up, but if I view the same page in safari they work.. Am I missing a codec or what?

    Third, is there a program designed to speed up a mac.. Like for PC's theres system mechanic, which defrags (I know macs dont defrag), cleans up, optimizes, etc.. Is there a mac program that does this? I've tried optimizer x I believe is the name of the program, but I didnt really feel any improvements..

    Fourth, is there a way to edit the.. I wanna say bios as thats what my PC has taught me... Basically.. I'd like to be able to overclock my G4 if thats possible, and view other things that BIOS usually show on PC's..


    Thanks for the help, and I know these are probably pretty common n00b questions.. but I really do appreciate the help. :)


    -Brandon
     
  2. dogbone macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #2
    Yes it can, but there is a chance that it won't. So it is always best to get your ram from a supplier who can guarantee compaitibility.

    Check the "content" tab in Firefox prefs and look at the "load images" checkbox.
    Mac pretty well takes care of this itself. Restarting occaisionally can help.

    I don't know about this but it doesn't sound like a good idea. I'm sure some experts will enlighten you further.
    However there is some tricky stuff you can do in Firefox to speed it up. Type "about:config" without the quote marks into the url bar.
     
  3. astrogiblet thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    #3
    Hey! I appreciate the quick reply. The firefox thing worked, evidentally the box that says "load images from originating site only" got checked somehow..


    Thanks so far,


    -Brandon
     
  4. dogbone macrumors 68020

    dogbone

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Location:
    S33.687308617200465 E150.31341791152954
    #4
    It is I who should be thanking you for giving me the opportunity to improve my "spam" to "useful post" average.

    It now stands at 1555:2 (including this one)
     
  5. astrogiblet thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    #5
    Wait.. is that two good posts or two spam posts?


    -Brandon
     
  6. Mpulsive81 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    #6
    I think he means this is his 2nd useful post :D
     
  7. iHotu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Location:
    at large

Share This Page