Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

alex_ant

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Feb 5, 2002
All up in your bidness
I've been using OS X on a PBG4/550 for a few months and I've come across a few minor problems with it that I wonder if anyone here with more experience can help me solve. This is 10.1.3, by the way.

1) Whenever I unplug and then plug in a USB mouse, its acceleration resets back to the default. Is this a known bug? This problem does not occur in OS 9; I'm guessing OS X doesn't use the PRAM to store the mouse speed variable since it's multi-user?

2) About 5% of the time I close the lid to put the machine to sleep, the sleep light does not come on, the CPU enters a loop causing the fan to eventually come on high, and the machine won't wake up - I have to hold the power button down to reset it. Is this a known bug?

3) I usually use the 3-pane Finder window as my file manager. I've set Audion as my default MP3 player. Most MP3s I click on in the Finder can be played using that miniature player embedded in the Finder; however, some only display an icon and must be played in a separate player. Why is this, and how can I fix it?

4) File types - how to change them? I have two HTML files side-by-side; one of them the Finder insists is "HTML," which is correct, and the other the Finder insists is a "Document," so it is given a different icon, even though I've set both files to open with the same application. (In a related question, is there a way to turn this behavior off? I am a Unix person with no need for all this metadata / resource fork crap. :) )

Aside from all that, I love this computer, and my Linux --> OS X conversion has gone smoother than I ever thought it would. Even though this computer is dog-slow in OS X, I've always liked dogs, at least small ones that don't want to bite me. So thanks in advance for any help, but I'll probably thank ya again later.

Alex

AlphaTech