A few questions about the iMac G5

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Metoyou, Sep 29, 2004.

1. Metoyou macrumors newbie

Okay so I've finally decided to jump in and switch to Mac, but I have a few questions :)

How many memory slots are there? Will I have to purchase 1GB with it to put another stick in for 2GB or can I go for 256mb and then put my own in? What configuration works? I do realise I could probably find this out from a technical specification but human beings explain it to a dumb girl like me much better :p

I noticed there was an offer for 0% Interest if I was a Higher Education student, I am, but I'm 17 and the deal says I must be 18, is there any way I can utilise a guarentor in the family or is it absolutely compulsary for the person in education to be 18? (which seems sorta dumb since most people leave higher education at 18 =\)

That's pretty much it for now -- I'll probably have more questions later but these are the most pertanent since 14.9% would probably kill me >.<

TIA!

Ohhh yeah also, where can I get the right Memory for my Mac, bearing in mind I'm in the UK :D

2. Devie macrumors 6502a

the imac G5 has two memory slots, when you get ram, get them in pairs and keep them in pairs too allow for 128 bit dual channel thingo...

3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

edesignuk

The iMac G5 has just 2 slots. Which can take up to 1GB DIMMS each giving you a max of 2GB. You don't have to put memory in in matching pairs, so it's quite alright to have a 256MB+512MB in there. One plus point of having matching pairs (of whatever size - 2x256, 2x512, 2x1024) is that the memory BUS gets doubled from 64 bit (if your DIMMS don't match) to 128bit, which from the benchmarks we've seen does make quite a difference.
    I normally just go with crucial.com/uk, good price, and reliable.

No idea about the edu disscounts/finance, sorry.

4. Metoyou thread starter macrumors newbie