a few questions

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Zindane, Jun 4, 2006.

1. Zindane macrumors newbie

Jun 4, 2006
    As of right now I am a Windows guy but I would like to get a Macbook Pro. I just have a couple of questions I would like to know before I buy the notebook.

First, would I be able to take my game discs that I have now, put them into a mac and install them so I can play them or do I need to buy whole new CDs?

Second, I am a 3d animator, do programs like Maya or 3dsmax work if I have the CDs (somewhat like the question above), if these programs dont work are there any other ones for Macs?

Lastly, how customizable are Macs? Can I change the whole UI if I wanted to?
  2. reh macrumors 6502a

Oct 24, 2003
    Your existing software will only work if it also contains a Mac OS X version on the disc as well. Windows versions and Mac versions of applications are different and are not interchangeable.

If your disc(s) only contain a windows version you can either purchase the Mac version of the application (if available) or purchase and install Windows on your Macbook Pro via Bootcamp.
  3. idea_hamster macrumors 65816

Jul 11, 2003
    NYC, or thereabouts
    I've heard that software vendors may allow you to switch to the Mac version of their software for the "upgrade" price. I've never done this myself, but it would be worth looking into -- especially if you were going to upgrade anyway.

Technically, the answer is maybe.

Your Windows programs will only run in Windows OS, not Mac OS, although as reh notes, some software discs have both Mac and Win versions on them. if that's the situation, you're golden. (Unless the Mac version requires OS 9/Classic rather than OSX -- then it's just too old to use on a MacBook/MBPro.)

If not, your possible solutions are:

1. Switch your software by buying new copies/upgrades. (Best, $$$$)