A friend is giving me a PowerMac G4 ...

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by HawaiiMacAddict, Jan 27, 2008.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #1
    Aloha everyone,

    My coworker is giving me his old PowerMac G4 because his wife wants it out of their house, and because it also needs a new power supply. Can anyone here recommend a good place to purchase one online? I'm not sure which PowerMac G4 it is, but will be picking it up tomorrow.

    Thanks in advance,

    HawaiiMacAddict
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    errol

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #2
    I would definitely go the newegg.com route but some Power supplies are hard to find, especially for the mirror G4.
     
  3. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #3
    expect to pay $100+ for the MDD PSU. what does it look like? you can get them relatively cheap for any other G4 mac.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #4
    Aloha everyone,

    I found one place online, but their price was $220! The price varies, depending on the amount of power desired and the type of G4. I won't know anything else about it until tomorrow, when my coworker give it to me. I'll let y'all know more tomorrow. My wife will be taking her current computer, my old PC, to Vietnam to give to her cousin, and my "new" PowerMac G4 will replace that PC in our house. I'm now one step closer to an all-Mac household hehehe :D

    Now, if I can only convince my brother-in-law to switch hmmmmmmm :D

    HawaiiMacAddict
     
  5. macrumors regular

    ma2ha3

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    #5
    pls. that is an ancient piece of equipment.
    use DIY tools, cut out the apple stuffs.
    Put in the osx86 compatible stuffs. Throw in a QUAD 2 core processor. you can run os x 1.5 happy for years to come.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #6
    Aloha ma2ha3,

    Just out of curiosity, are you Chinese or Vietnamese? Your screen name looks like a transliteration of an Asian language. To answer your question, I wanted to get the G4 up and running with as little expenditure as possible, but also looking to getting good use of it for the forseeable future. That being said, I don't yet have a dedicated "use" for it, other than as an online game platform for the nieces/nephew (online games such as those found on the Disney Playhouse website :D)

    OrangeSVTguy, I just made the switch from the "Dark Side" in August 2006, so I really know nothing of the various differences between the three primary PM G4 models, but have seen a picture of a MDD setup with the side down. That power supply looks like it takes up the entire top portion of the case - the HDD/optical drives look as if they're a little bit lower down than in the Yikes! model, but I'm not sure about that. You mentioned that you know of places to get a power supply for a decent price (other than for the MDD model) - can I get the URL from you please (if other than eBay)? Shipping may be an issue, as I'm in Hawaii, but I'm used to that by now :eek:

    Thanks again for your responses,

    HawaiiMacAddict
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #7
    I have a Dual 1GHz MDD power supply for sale if you are interested.
    Shoot me a PM.
    Cheers!
     
  8. macrumors member

    ctango

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Mountains
    #8
    The price difference would be for the Apple Cinema Displays built-in power. Apple shifted power supplies for about 2 or 3 years, so you really have to get the model and current type of power supply to get a good price. If you are lucky yours will cost about $125, if you aren't then it will be around $225. I'm sure there are some DIY instructions for converting the old G4 power supplies from standard supplies.
     
  9. Roy
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    #9

    This is definitely a gift that is not free. I have a G4 that is 7 years old, runs OS 10.4.11, and runs like a charm. But if the power supply or something else major went wrong with it, then out the door it would go and I think that is what your coworker is "giving" you.

    Once you replace the power supply, how much more are you willing to spend on replacing old hardware, when the next thing breaks?
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #10
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #11
    Aloha 9Charms,

    Thank you for your reply. I completely forgot about xlr8yourmac.com - thanks for the reminder! I've only been a Mac user for the past 1 1/2 years, so I put the question up on this forum to get y'alls thinking. I can certainly find places on the net that will sell me most anything, but I value the recommendations of Mac users over some company's website.

    Thanks again,

    HawaiiMacAddict
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #12
    Aloha everyone,

    I got my "new" PowerMac G4 yesterday, but it will be a little while before it gets fired up for good. I have to replace the CDRW drive with a DVDRW-DL drive and replace the Zip drive. I've attached some pics of it - I think it's the Graphite "Mystic" Gigabit Ethernet model. It has dual 450-MHz CPUs, 768MB RAM, and a SCSI card of some sort. Everything works, but it's running Mac OS X 10.2.9 - I may have to get Tiger on CDs, but I'll run Tiger on it for a while after I bump up the RAM and get a keyboard for it (my PC keyboard is PS2, so like Windows it is useless). The power supply is still ticking - apparently a friend of my coworker thought it was dead, bought another G4 to replace it, then gave it to my coworker for parts. My coworker's G4 has yet to die, so I am the latest lucky recipient of this awesome computer. Ever since I started looking at Apple designs I wanted to get a G4, and now I have one! Let me know what y'all think.

    HawaiiMacAddict
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Roy
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    #13
    On the outside it looks identical to my G4 466 Digital Audio.

    Looking at the date on the back of your computer, this looks to be the one here:
    http://www.apple-history.com/

    Power Macintosh G4 (Gigabit Ethernet)[​IMG]



    CPU
    CPU: PowerPC 7400
    CPU Speed: 400/2x450/2x500 MHz
    FPU: integrated
    Bus Speed: 100 MHz
    Data Path: 64 bit
    ROM: 1 MB ROM + 3 MB toolbox ROM loaded into RAM
    RAM Type: PC100
    Minimum RAM Speed: 100 MHz
    Onboard RAM: 0 MB
    RAM slots: 4
    Maximum RAM: 2 GB (1.5 in OS 9)
    Level 1 Cache: 32 kB data, 32 kB instruction
    Level 2 Cache: 1 MB backside, 1:2
    Expansion Slots: 3 64-bit 33 MHz PCI, 1 2x AGP (filled)

    Video
    Video Card/Chipset: ATI RAGE 128 Pro
    VRAM: 16 MB
    Max Resolution: all resolutions supported
    Video Out: VGA/DVI, ADC

    Storage
    Hard Drive: 20/30/40 GB
    ATA Bus: ATA-66
    Zip Drive: optional
    Optical Drive: DVD-ROM/RAM

    Input/Output
    USB: 2
    Firewire: 2
    Audio Out: stereo 16 bit mini
    Audio In: stereo 16 bit mini
    Speaker: mono

    Networking
    Modem: 56 kbps
    Ethernet: 10/100/1000Base-T
    Airport: optional

    Miscellaneous
    Codename: Mystic
    Gestalt ID: 406
    Power: 338 Watts
    Dimensions: 17" H x 8.9" W x 18.4" D
    Weight: 30 lbs.
    Maximum OS: 10.4.11
    Minimum OS: 9.0.4
    Introduced: August 2000
    Terminated: January 2001
    [​IMG]Announced in July 2000, the PowerMac G4 (Gigabit Ethernet) added dual-processor power to the G4 line. Available with a single 400 MHz G4, or dual 450 or 500 MHz G4s, The new PowerMac G4 also included onboard 1000Base-T Ethernet as standard equipment, an industry first.
    The PowerMac G4 (GE) shipped in three configurations: The single-processor 400 MHz configuration included 64 MB of RAM and 20 GB hard drive, for $1599. The dual-processor 450 MHz configuration included 128 MB of RAM and a 30 GB hard drive for $2499. Finally, the dual-processor 500 MHz configuration included 256 MB of RAM, a 40 GB hard drive, and a DVD-RAM drive, for $3499. All configurations included a 56 kbps modem, Apple's Pro Mouse, and the innovative new Apple Display Connector (ADC) which passed video, power, and USB to new Apple Monitors from a single connection.
     
  14. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #14
    wow that's exactly identical as my so called "sawtooth" heh! after reading i guess it's a GE then:confused: since it's got the dual 500mhz. well just the motherboard is identical since the rest is pretty much modded:p

    it's a great system and i love mine.

    edit:
    thanks Roy for that info. i just noticed that mine indeed is a gigabit ethernet. it has 1000bt on the label.


    now OP, if you plan on upgrading, get a ati 9800 pro video card, max out the ram and get a usb 2.0 pci card. and it will run like a champ.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #15
    Aloha everyone,

    I thought it was the Gigabit Ethernet model, but as it doesn't have a DVD drive, I wasn't quite sure. I mean, if it comes with a DVD drive, why take that out and put in a CDRW? Oh well, I may be able to get some RAM on the cheap from another coworker (he ordered the wrong speed of RAM and it may be the right kind for mine :D), but that was actually the first thing I planned on doing anyway. I'll worry about the video and CPU later as I can run Tiger on it the way it is (even with only 768MB of RAM - although it will probably be on the slow side). Actually, it is quite "snappy" except when downloading a webpage - that was one of the only "slow" activities I've put it through. I still need to get a Mac keyboard for it, but for now I'll "rob Peter to pay Paul" - use the keyboard from my iMac.

    HawaiiMacAddict
     
  16. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #16
    it is a gigabit ethernet. it says 1000BT and it also states dvd-rom on the back of your computer so it was replaced or swapped. guess someone needed a cd burner more then a dvd drive. also you can remove your zip drive if you won't plan on using it.

    oh and the real shocker.... "Finally, the dual-processor 500 MHz configuration included 256 MB of RAM, a 40 GB hard drive, and a DVD-RAM drive, for $3499" :eek:
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #17
    Aloha OrangeSVTguy,

    I have a 30GB HDD inside, but will get a spare 80GB HDD today from work (they were going to be recycled, so I was able to get one), and I was also able to get 2GB of RAM, so after I get a new DVD drive I should be good to go. Sometime in the future, I will be upgrading the video card and CPU, but once the new DVD drive is installed, I will at least be able to load Tiger (I also got Tiger on DVD).

    One question on the DVD drive - as long as it's ATAPI (IDE), I can just stick it in and be good to go, right? Oh, and once I remove the Zip drive, where can I get another bezel to replace the Zip drive bezel? I'll try some sites I've used for research in the past, but I haven't been searching for bezels.

    :apple:HawaiiMacAddict
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #18
    I still have my dual 500. Works great, still use it for random things from time to time.
     
  19. macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #19
    i have a powerbook g4 tit...runs amazinly well

    tiger + iwork + office 04...amazing!
     
  20. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #20
    cool that you got free memory, it's really expensive for these machines! yeah any type of ide dvd should work, even one from a pc. you can install a hdd in place of the zip if you want. i'll give you the bezel for just shipping costs if you want it.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #21
    Aloha OrangeSVTguy,

    I'll send you a PM - thanks for the offer of the bezel. I've attached my first screenshot showing successful loading of Tiger on my "new" PMG4 GE!!! This is really nice - at least it's a darn sight better than 10.2.9!

    I've almost completed installing the Mac OS X Update Combined (PowerPC), so I have to go before the reboot. Thanks for the responses, everyone. I'll post more and my G4 project continues. Tomorrow I'm probably going to get a DVD burner!

    :apple:HawaiiMacAddict
     

    Attached Files:

  22. macrumors 68020

    kellen

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #22
    Nice. Picked up the same model a couple of months ago for an extra desktop mac computer. Guy was selling them for 50 each, bought two. Both loaded with over a gig each of ram, dvd burners in each and airport cards. Sold the second one for 150 on craigslist.

    Tiger runs great on it. Only thing I would recommend is a USB 2.0 pci card. Took me 3 times to get one that worked.

    Also you probably have the rage 128 pro in there, I would look for a replacement if you are keeping it and using it.

    Good luck!
     
  23. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #23
    Aloha kellen,

    I do have the ATI Rage128 16MB VRAM card, but won't be replacing it anytime soon. My wife doesn't want to spend too much money on it, so we'll just get a Mac keyboard and DVD burner for now. I would like to eventually uograde both the CPU and video card, but we're talking at least $385, and at most $705 or so at most. That's like buying an 8-year old Mac mini. I'm just going to get the keyboard and DVD burner and enjoy Tiger on my vintage PowerMac G4.

    :apple:HawaiiMacAddict
     
  24. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #24
    Aloha everyone,

    Please permit me one last screenshot of the "About This Mac" window - I've successfully updated my G4 to 10.4.11! Life is good!

    HawaiiMacAddict
     

    Attached Files:

  25. macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #25
    Anakin Skywalker... that's funny
     

Share This Page