A GOOD MACHINE FOR 1080p Video Editing

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by I AM THE MAN, Apr 10, 2011.

  1. I AM THE MAN, Apr 10, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2011

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #1
    I recently became a YouTube Partner, and I will soon be purchasing an HD 1080p Camera. With that, I would like to purchase a new machine (Windows or Mac). I want to purchase a machine in which I can edit the 1080p (60fps) video at a decent amount of speed.

    I currently own both Windows and Macs and I use Sony Vegas on Windows, and Final Cut Express + ScreenFlow + iMovie (iMovie VERY RARELY AND ONLY IF I NEED TO GET A FAST EDIT DOWN). My minds are headed towards buying either an iMac (i7) or a Mac Pro.

    As far as Windows goes, I really do not know what to buy as far as the specs go, because I currently have an i5 that i use to edit videos on Sony Vegas and CS5 (AfterEffects) and its pretty slow (my graphics card is a Nvidia 9800).

    Thanks for the help, and I know I might sound a little unorganized, but im honestly very confused where to start, so thanks for all the help :)
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Any current Mac will handle your task, some faster, some slower. But know in order to edit properly, you need to transcode the highly compressive HD footage (using some MPEG-4 codec) to a QuickTime (.mov) using Apple Intermediate Codec (AIC) as the codec for video and Uncompressed as the codec for audio.
    You can do such things via the Log & Transfer window in FCE or MPEG Streamclip's batch list (CMD+B).
    Using MRoogle you will find hundreds of similar threads.

    Anyway, if the budget is there and you make your money with this, the Mac Pro is the safer bet, due to upgradeable GPUs and HDDs and more RAM (if needed).
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #3
    Thank you for your reply. Would the iMac 27 (i7) be a good bet or the Mac Pro. I find it hard to chose between them, and I really don't want to exceed a $2000 (I will be purchasing a Refurb iMac).
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    The i7 will totally suffice, but know, that you need to get external HDD storage too, as using the internal HDD (the HDD used for the OS) for video editing is not recommended.
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #5
    The 27" iMac is great. I wouldn't be buying anything until the next one comes out, though. When that could be is anyone's guess.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    #6
    You may be able to get a 2008 mac pro on craigslist for around 2 grand. Everything else will be crap so your going to have to add ram and hard drive but look around. There are some good deals to be had on the 2008 mac pro and it's a good machine
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    refurb store also has great deals on mac pros. i'm editing 1080P on a quad 2009 pro. edits just fine. no issues.

    i'm also using a maxtro max card for outputting to AppleTV, the other i-devices and youtube. Wicked fast card. not cheap, but if you're outputting to youtube, it's a no brainer imho. :)
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #8
    Thank you for all your replies!
     
  9. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    #9
    I edit multi camera 1080p footage on my late 2009 27" core2duo iMac completely fine, just takes longer to render/export.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    #10
    Mac or PC, I would highly suggest you get a higher end sandy bridge i7.

    Couple this with a good CUDA card and you can encode H264 quite quickly using the gpu.

    That said, the windows option might be cheaper and better performing.
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    Gator24765

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
    #11
    Congrats man on being a partner. WHat kind of videos do you do?


    As far as a good machine? You can't go wrong with a mac, I love editing video on them. The new Final Cut Pro X would be a cheap and professional addition to the mac for all of your editing needs.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #12
    i edit on an i7 iMac. does the job well enough. all depends on how large your edits will be. Are you gonna do alot of effects work? or just editing some files together? For most my needs the i7 does more then enough. and i do pretty heavy edits.

    a mac pro would be a better choice. but you will spend alot more buck for the amount of bang :p (expandability and external screen are pro's and con's)
     
  13. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #13
    I'm sorry to ask, but what is a CUDA card?
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #14

    Thanks! As far as my videos go, Im a Tech-Reviewer.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #15
    Nothing to big. I just want fast times as far as rendering/importing/exporting times go.
     
  16. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #16
    1080p tells us absolutely nothing. There are $200 cameras that shoot that and you could cut it on a 7-8 year old machine. There are $100K+ cameras that shoot that which you couldn't. For speed it is more dependent on your I/O, the codec the camera uses and the bit-rate instead of how much ram you have and what proc you go with.
     
  17. macrumors 65816

    laurim

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Minnesota USA
    #17
    As a sidenote, isn't ProRes 422 the current preferred editing format? That's what I use now.
     
  18. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #18
    It doesn't work with FCE. And transcoding to prores just for the sake of it is stupid. I do it when working with multiple formats or H.264 footage but if I am cutting a 3 cam shoot from EX-1's there is no way I would transcode all of that for no reason.
     
  19. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #19
    For Final Cut Pro it is, but the OP was referencing Final Cut Express in his or her OP.
     
  20. macrumors 65816

    laurim

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Minnesota USA
    #20
    Ah, sorry, I missed the express part.

    All of my work involves using multiple formats and my final result movie is ProRes 422 so that's MY world. The OP wanted faster rendering and editing so using ProRes (if he had FCP) could facilitate that. Excuse me for suggesting it.
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #21
    HOW DO YOU KNOW? He still hasn't told us what kind of footage he is cutting. There are a lot of formats that are a lot less strenuous than ProRes 422. He could literally be making it harder to cut with the horrible blanket advice that this subforum provides from rank amateurs that don't know their ass from their elbow.

    Don't get your balls in a twist. It's the internet not a graduate class. And since you've been around so long you should know this place is filled with horrible information and little kids. Harden the hell up.
     
  22. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    #22
    Sorry. I will be editing using a T2I Rebel. Native Format.
     
  23. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #23
    Well in that regard you absolutely want to transcode to AIC if using FCE.

    See folks... you get all the information before you make suggestions.
     
  24. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #24
    For some it might not be needed, as I suggested what you just suggested 17 days ago.
     
  25. macrumors 65816

    laurim

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Location:
    Minnesota USA
    #25
    Sorry, I don't have balls to get into a twist but I guess you do, lol. I just asked a simple question about what uncompressed format people used to edit nowadays and you went into a tizzy. I don't understand why you think ProRes 422 is "strenuous" since I use it all the time, but whatever. Obviously, you're the editing god here and no one else should bother contributing to the conversation. Glad you admitted converting to AIC is correct.
     

Share This Page