A Macbook Pro Switcher

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by necropunk, Mar 2, 2006.

  1. necropunk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Greetings.


    First of all just let me say hi to all the boarders, since its my first post :)

    If things go as i plan i'll soon swith to apple. I'll buy a Macbook Pro 1.83.

    now since i'm a newbie to this mac world let me ask you, are the 512 667MHz DDR2 SDRAM confortable for an amateursih video and sound editing?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. atari1356 macrumors 68000

    atari1356

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    #2
    I'd recommend having at least 1GB of RAM. With only 512MB the computer will have to resort to swapping to virtual memory - and in general slowing everything down. This is especially true for doing audio and video work.
     
  3. necropunk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #3
    is it easy to install myself those extra 512 ?
     
  4. Seasought macrumors 65816

    Seasought

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    #4
    I think so. I did it on my Powerbook and I've done it on Windows machines before as well. Pretty simple.

    If you've never installed RAM before I would suggest you follow your manual's instructions and wear an anti-static wrist guard.

    I'll also recommend at least 1GB of RAM. I tried doing simple things in Garage Band with only 512 and it was painful for me.

    Welcome to the community! :D
     
  5. necropunk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #5
    thank you for the replys.

    i'll most likely buy that extra ram after i buy the MBP.

    The thing is that i'm currently using a P3 800 with 348 SDRam, and i already do some editing on this "machine". Painful editing indeed.

    I believe that those 512 on MBP might not be the ideal, but i'll sure see BIG differences on performance (comparing with my current PC ).
     
  6. Seasought macrumors 65816

    Seasought

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    #6
    You may, you may not. Going from 348 to 512 isn't as steep a jump as 512 to 1GB. Granted, you are going from a PC to a Mac so that alone will be quite a noticeable improvement in and of itself. :p

    You can make 512 work for you, but when you can bumping up to 1GB or higher will really make you feel warm and fuzzy inside. :D
     
  7. blckout20 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Location:
    CT
    #7
    I'm going from 320 mb to 1 gig....oh man I can't wait for my new MBP. Then I'll probably be getting an imac soon after.
     

Share This Page