A Modest Proposal: No More Checks (Retail)

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by vrDrew, Apr 27, 2013.

1. macrumors 65816

Throughout my career, I've had very little first-hand experience in the retail end of business. So I was a little surprised to learn that a) many businesses still take checks from retail customers and b) the costs of continuing this policy seem far out of proportion to any benefits.

Which brings up the question: Why don't businesses en masse announce that as of XYZ date they won't accept checks as payment?

Pretty much everyone has a debit card these days, if not a whole wallet full of credit cards. And for those luddites who eschew the banking system, there is still good old cash (although businesses still get burned with counterfeit bills from time to time.)

I think checks still have a place in business-to-business transactions; and (maybe) in ongoing financial relationships (ie. utilities, mortgage payments, etc.) - although the need for that is fast disappearing too.

Can anyone give me a good reason businesses ought to keep accepting checks these days - I'd be curious to know.

2. macrumors 65816

I'm guessing if it was that big of a deal to them or was an insurmountable cost, they would stop. Many places don't accept checks, and many do. I guess it's just a choice how you want to serve your customer.

I still write checks for my car payment (they don't have a card option), health insurance payment (i don't think they have a card option), medical bills, and a couple of other things. But most of it is through debit. I rarely ever use credit cards.

3. macrumors 68000

Sydde

Cards incur some sort of transaction fee, usually a percentage of the sale (3~5% has been common n the past) for credit, debit uses a different scheme IIUC. So far as I know, checks do not cost the payee anything.

4. macrumors demi-god

Shrink