a new twist.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by stevehp, Oct 10, 2006.

1. stevehp macrumors 6502

Hi All,

So I have wanted a 17 inch MBP for months now. I finally have the money, but the more I think about it, I could get the 24inch iMac and the base MacBook for almost the same price! I am a student but also own and operate my own graphic/web design company. Any suggestions?

thanks!

2. jsw Moderator emeritus

jsw

Go for the pair unless you really need the extra portable resolution of the MBP over the MB. The 24" has superior resolution and power, and the MB is a lot lighter and smaller and longer lasting on batteries than the MBP.

3. stevehp thread starter macrumors 6502

Okay. I've done some pricing...This is in Canadian (Educational Discount) before tax:

MacBook Pro, 17-inch, 2.16GHz Intel Core Duo
    = $3,127.00

20 inch iMac (Better Graphics Card) + MacBook 2.0GHZ (80GB) ($1,622)
    = $3,299.00

24 inch iMac
    = $2,543.00

I am actually leaning towards the 24 inch by itself now and waiting until summer 2007 for a MBP or MB. I have a working Dell laptop :)eek:) I can use until then.

Suggestions?

If I decide on the 24incher, should I wait for the MBP C2D announcement or just buy this sucker tomorrow?

4. 2nyRiggz macrumors 603

2nyRiggz

I would say get the 24" imac and whatever else...the extra power is going to come in hand:)

Bless

5. Blackheart macrumors 6502a

Blackheart

6. dmw007 macrumors G4

dmw007

I think that I would go with the 24" iMac & a MacBook if I were you stevehp. :)

7. stevehp thread starter macrumors 6502

thanks for the suggestions everyone!

Is the 24inch iMac (2.33 with better graphics card) more powerful than the 17 inch MBP? Also, is the RAM and Memory upgradable after purchase?

Thanks!

8. dmw007 macrumors G4

dmw007

Yes, to both of your questions (RAM = Memory, but you were probably asking about the HDD, which is also upgradeable). :)

9. Demon Hunter macrumors 68020