1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    #1
    I am sorry I know this is a hardware issue not software but it it network related. I need to replace the connector on the end of a prebuilt patch cable. Do I use the A or B wiring configuration? Also is there any problem using stranded cable in a punch down?
     
  2. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #2
    You need to check the other end to see how it is paired out and pair it the same way.

    I've never seen or used stranded in a punchdown.
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #3
    If the cable your fixing is prebuilt, my guess is that it won't be wired A or B. Purchased cables usually just match the colors. Just make note of what order is there and match it on the other end like belvdr said. If you can't tell, cut the end off and replace both ends.

    P.S. It doesn't really matter if you use A or B (or any other order for that matter) when wiring a new cable, just use the same order for both sides. If you need a crossover cable, use A on on end and B on the other.

    You should use solid for a punchdown. Stranded might work, but it won't be a good connection.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    #4
    Thanks for the help. I wired everything as B and it works at least for an internet connection.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    #5
    Here is the final solution. I tested the female keystone punchdowns for continuity and connected them to my router and all worked fine. The problem was I wanted to use these cables with an HDMI over cat5 extender. They worked one day but the next day the audio was all broken up. the solution was to remove the female connector and use a male connector. So I guess the punchdowns will make a connection with stranded wire but not a good connection.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #6
    I know of someone who had issues with HDMI over UTP and he had to upgrade to at least CAT5e in order for it to work. In essence, it seems HDMI over UTP is very sensitive to its cabling structure.
     

Share This Page