A question from a PC user

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by davudvl, Nov 21, 2006.

1. davudvl macrumors newbie

Hello.
    I am seriously contemplating buying a Mac. I am not a professional, but I do enjoy photography, have good camera equipment and work with RAW files. I also enjoy making home videos and slide shows and burning them on DVD. I am using Pinnacle on PC and it takes me about two hrs to make a movie, but it takes me an extra week to deal with all the bugs, crashes, etc...
    Guys, please tell me that after spending a bundle on the Mac, my problems will be gone. The system I configured is $4000 incl. tax, (without the display) while the same configuration on PC is $1900. with display.
    In the beginning I will use the imovie, idvd, and iphoto. Later on I will probably add Final Cut Pro and Aperture.
    This is the system I configured:
    mac pro
    Two 2.66GHz Dual-Core Intel Xeon Processor
    Memory: 2GB (4x512MB)
    500GB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s Hard Drive
    ATI Radeon x1900 XT 512MB Graphics Card
    Two 16x SuperDrives
    Bluetooth 2.0 + EDR and AirPort Extreme
    Wireless Keyboard and wireless mighty mouse
    Mac OS v10.4 operating system
    Apple care protection plan

Is this enough, or not enough, or too much.
    Your suggestions are very appreciated, esp. those working with phtos and video.
    Thank you

2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

Eidorian

1. Buy and Install your own hard drives.
    2. Buy and Install your own Super Drive
    3. Consider a 24" iMac unless you're VERY keen on upgrading it to death or are bringing your own monitor.

3. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

If you don't have a display in mind, you might want to go with an iMac, as the poster above said. It's a very powerful machine still, and the 24" has way more screen real estate than I would know what to do with. If you're not looking to do any major upgrading and expanding on the way, you won't need the power and size of the Mac Pro tower.