A somewhat complex MS Word question.....believe it or not.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Abstract, Nov 10, 2003.

  1. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #1
    Well, its complex if you have never used it before, or didn't even know it existed.

    On MS OfficeXP, there is a built-in mathematics equation writing program called 'Microsoft Equation 3.0' that allows you to write math equations neatly. Ever notice how even the most complex looking calculus questions are so neatly typed out in your textbook? Well, I want to be able to do the same in my reports/thesis. :)

    Problem: I can't find it on my Mac version of Office, and being the computer genius that I am, I can't seem to add it in.

    I tried going to Tools>Customize>Commands, and then adding the "Equation Editor" icon to the "Insert" menu. I thought this would allow me to insert equations whenever I wanted. However, it isn't clickable (the text is dimmed....unusable), and so I still can't write equations.

    Can anybody help?

    Regards.

    EDIT: Okay, nevermind. I need the Office ValuePack CD, right? That's the disk that came in the box. Unfortunately, my copy went missing when I moved back home after I finished school. I need it to do my M.Sc in a few months, but not now. Ah well, I guess MS can have more of my money when I buy it again. I really do need Microsoft Equation 3.0. Damn!! :(
     
  2. voicegy macrumors 65816

    voicegy

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    Sandy Eggo - MacRumors Member since 1-1-2002
    #2
    Interesting...I found an Equation Editor in AppleWorks 6...didn't know that was there. (but doesn't help your current situation, I know)
     
  3. legion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    #3
    MS Equation Editor is all good and well... but to get the professional equation printing, use LaTex. Most higher-end professional books in-field are setup and typed/formated in LaTex. Beautiful equations...
     
  4. Abstract thread starter macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #4
    Haha, yeah, I don't have Appleworks, either. I don't want to actually spend money on Appleworks as a solution or anything, but its good to know that its available on Appleworks as well, I guess. ;)

    PS: The MS Office one is quite good, and easy to use once you get used to it. :)

    @Legion: Thanks. Never heard of LaTex, but I think it would be easier to use one integrated into Word, thats all. Plus I'm happy with the results of MS Equation 3.0. I didn't know you could write equations "better" than that, but I'll look into it. Its not like I have any other options, right? ;)
     
  5. Abstract thread starter macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #5
    Okay, don't get mad, but I d/l'ed this LaTex program and tried it out in order to see whether or not its any good. I don't want to buy something that I find out is difficult/annoying to use.

    Its too difficult to use. It isn't nearly as user-friendly as MS Equation 3.0 at all. I'd rather pay for Office again than buy LaTex. I didn't think it would be difficult to use, but it was.

    And even the "test equation" they told me to cut and paste gave me an error. I'm assuming that the equation they gave me was supposed to work. It didn't. I don't know why. :eek:
     
  6. jxyama macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #6
    LaTeX is used in a lot of scientific publications, especially in "pure" sciences like physics. so to make your equations look the best, it's the one to use. if you have access to a networked UNIX workstations, i am pretty sure it will have LaTeX processor. just go to talk to a network admin.

    pick up a LaTeX guidebook for about $30. i recommend one written by leslie lamport. it's not just an equation editor, it's the entire scientific typesetting package. it will produce in Postscript.

    i understand Word is something you know already so it's more comfortable. but if you can spare the time, try LaTeX... the result will be worth the effort... took me about a month to learn.
     
  7. jxyama macrumors 68040

    jxyama

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    #7
    here's a sample equation made using LaTeX (from my thesis).
     

    Attached Files:

  8. rjrufo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2002
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    I have Equation Editor, if you want, I can send you a copy. PM your e-mail address to me.
     
  9. legion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    #9
    Once you get used to LaTeX, you kind of never go back when doing scientific publications. I went to a science/tech/engineering school (I'm protecting the name of the school and trying not to gloat, but one of the well known ones), but once you get the hang of LaTeX it becomes second nature. The bonus is you can use it on any text editor and "compile" it later. It's a lot like html in the way; it's coded (which is fairly simple markup.) I have to say most journals in EE or CS or Physics have always wanted LaTeX output. These days, I know there is a GUI frontend for LaTeX that runs on UNIX (HP-UX and IRIX for sure) (and hopefully OS X), but I'm a sucker for simplicity and can text edit fast (I also use vim for coding :) )

    Also, as for expense, it's always been free to me.... which is an added bonus.
    (BTW, thanks jxyama for the sample of LaTeX output... I probably should have included that with my original post but just assumed that everyone in grad school has used LaTex at one point or another)

    Also, despite my favour of LaTeX and vim, I'm not really an "old guy".. .under 30.
     
  10. Abstract thread starter macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #10
    Okay okay, I'll give it a shot. But again, even the "example equation" gave me trouble despite the fact I copied and pasted it directly. Maybe its just me.....

    EDIT: Okay, never mind. Its probably due to something pertaining to the "LaTex and Ghostscript binaries". My d/l'ed version didn't come with any folders of that sort, so I'll just buy it later.

    Thanks. :)
     

Share This Page