A Student Buyer/Switcher dilemma

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by i-sidd, Nov 25, 2006.

1. i-sidd macrumors 6502a

Hi all, I am a student and have been a PC user for most of my life UNTIL, I was introduced to a MAC. and to describe it I have one word AWESOME.
    Anyways, since being a student I don't have a lot of money to spend on a laptop,however I can afford the Macbook, with my configuration and student discount and apple care plan it comes to $1400, but I saw that the apple refurbrished store and it has the 15' MBP for around $1499 without the apple care plan. So I don't know if I should buy the new MB or buy the refurbrished MBP. Also since I will be using a lot of MS office for school work, will the MS office for Mac be use to share and transfer my spreadsheets, word documents and powerpoint slides with my friends or professors. Will I be able to do powerpoint presentations in a PC based smart classroom. I can't go and buy the windows Xp and bootit on the MAC as it will be additional cost to me.
    I need to be in the $1500 budget, Will I be able to get all that I need for that Budget.

What are the pros and cons on a reburshed MAC.
    Any advise or recommendations will be of great help to me.

Cheers!!!

2. nitynate macrumors 6502a

Go for a 2GHz C2D white MacBook with 2GB RAM.

No stress. No pain. New. Nice. No cons.

3. feelthefire macrumors 6502a

Macs don't work with the projectors in our smart classrooms. I believe there's an adapter but most students don't have it and my friends are always borrowing my laptop to make presentations. I don't know what yours are like.

4. m-dogg macrumors 65816

m-dogg

In case you want to go with the MBP but are worried about not being able to afford Apple Care, Apple will let you purchase it at a later date if you like (anytime within the first year).

Also, just a polite FYI for you...'Mac' shouldn't be written in all caps like 'PC.' Just a capital 'M' and you're good!

5. wPod macrumors 68000