AAC Player

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by bobber205, Jun 27, 2006.

  1. bobber205 macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #1
    I need an aac player. Simply eh?

    Yet Whamb won't work... :(

    Is there a way to get iTunes to play it?
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    iTunes can play AAC files by default (this is the format that all iTunes files purchased from the Music Store are in).

    Quicktime can also play AAC formatted files.
     
  3. bobber205 thread starter macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #3
    One I have won't connect. The other connects after a bit, but hardly plays the cruddy sound that does play for only a few seconds...:mad:
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    It sounds like you're trying to play streaming music. Please give us the link to the music so that we can try it out and see whether we can get it to work :)
     
  5. Soulstorm macrumors 68000

    Soulstorm

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    #6
    VLC will play the AAC files, but it won't create a music library. It sounds to me that either you are using corrupted files, or you just try to play streaming music. If you have a corrupted file, it's not your fault. If all those problems are encountered while you are trying to play streaming music, it's not your fault. It's the server's that streams the music.
     
  6. bobber205 thread starter macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
  7. vniow macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    I accidentally my whole location.
    #8
    I'm not sure if iTunes supports the AAC+ format.
     
  8. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #9
    iTunes indeeed doesn't seem to want to play it--perhaps it doesn't recognize streaming AAC?

    Regardless, all I had to do was drop the .pls file I downloaded for the Arizona server on VLC and it's playing perfectly. If you're having a problem with VLC, either you don't have the latest version of it, or it's a network problem on your end.

    Nice station, by the way.

    (Oh, and @Soulstorm: VLC doesn't really do a library, but it does support saved playlists, which is relatively close depending on what you're doing. Just click the little button over on the right side of the controller window to show it.)
     
  9. Yuvi macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    #10
    Sort of. QuickTime can only decode LC-AAC. HE-AAC, a.k.a. aacPlus, is a superset of LC-AAC that is still backwards compatible. QuickTime/iTunes can play HE-AAC files as LC-AAC, but they won't sound as good as they do in players that do the spectral band replication that makes HE-AAC better than LC-AAC at low bitrates.

    In this case, QuickTime only supports SHOUTcast streams that use MP3, unfortunately. It does support streaming AAC over other protocols, so bug Apple about both HE-AAC and AAC SHOUTcast stream support.
     
  10. know-it-all5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    vlc worked for me

    im listening to it right now. weird music.
     
  11. bobber205 thread starter macrumors 68020

    bobber205

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #12
    I got it to work. Sorry for the trouble.

    And btw: It's japanese music or jpop.
     
  12. S.S.T. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    #13
    Does anybody know any player that plays aacPlus other than vlc?
    Since vlc only supports OSX, OS9 or earlier's users have no luck.:(
    I've searched a lot, but found none.
    Pleeese help!
     
  13. brandon6684 Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    #14
    Who is still using OS 9 and why?
     
  14. S.S.T. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    #15
    Brandon,

    Some of my friends uses iMac(oldest model), so OSX is too heavy for them.
    Others are from workplaces where they don't have any permission on pcs.
    Thnx.
     
  15. disconap macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #16
    I use OS9 quite frequently, as no OSX driver exists for our studio hardware. We mix in X, but track in 9.
     
  16. brandon6684 Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    #17
    If they are still on OS 9, they are basically out of luck.
     
  17. S.S.T. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    #18
    It was the last recourse to ask that question here...
    Guess I got to tell them to give it up.:(
    Thank you, disconap and Brandon.
     

Share This Page