About the roaming on verizon iphone 5

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by tymaster50, Nov 5, 2012.

  1. macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    It's currently set to voice only, I know all the new iPhone 5's come with it turned on automatically, is it ok to turn on data and international cdma? does it affect anything if I stay inside the US? Like will it connect to more towers or something? Don't want the bill to come and it's $500 because I turned the switch on.
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #2
    you'll be good in the USA.


    just turn it off over seas.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #3
    so it has no effect whatsoever in the US?
     
  4. macrumors 603

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #4
    None at all.

    Verizon and Sprint load all of their phones, including the iPhone with a Preferred Roaming List (PRL). This tells your phone which networks it can roam off of, and which it shouldn't. That's the list it will go by while you're in the US.

    Turning off international roaming just tells the phone that anything outside of the US is off-limits.
     
  5. macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #5
    yes it has PRL.. and yes it will have effect in the us. It has a list of accepetable towers (prl) if only voice is enabled..then only voice will roam etc. (places where you dont have service) it will show the "extended" in the top. Has only happen a few times and is slow..im sure its roaming on sprint the majority of the time.

    @scaredpoet.. its not an just international roaming switch.. its roaming in general..
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68030

    tymaster50

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #6
    will this raise my bill? Can't afford to pay any extra, hell I'm about to pay an overage since im at 1.9 gb out of 2.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    BFizzzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Location:
    Austin TX
    #7
    nah roaming in the US is covered. odds are you wont ever need to roam in NJ.
     

Share This Page