About the whole RAM 1.5v vs. 1.35v

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by creativet, Nov 2, 2012.

  1. creativet macrumors member

    creativet

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    I've really looked around about this and there is no where that I could find on Apple's list.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5475

    As you can clearly see, there is no where that it mentions any voltage.

    So I decided to do the "right thing" - I opened the mini to check the RAM that was sold in place to me with the system.

    http://www.digchip.com/datasheets/parts/datasheet/301/MT8JTF25664HZ-1G6M1.php (Long winded Specs of the RAM installed by Apple)

    http://avnetexpress.avnet.com/store...art&catalogId=500201&langId=-1&storeId=500201 (Short version of the RAM installed by Apple)

    So, the final word... The RAM installed is 1.5v. It is not 1.35v. So that should put to rest the question if 1.5v will work or not.

    (Oh, the mini I got was 2.3GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 with 4GB memory and stock HD)
     
  2. seattlejimbob macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    #2
    Thanks for the info.... Out of curiosity, where did the 1.35V 'rumor' come from?
     
  3. kdoug, Nov 2, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2012

    kdoug macrumors 6502a

    kdoug

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA USA
    #3
    You are correct, but a little late. It's already been confirmed and posted a while back.;)

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=16148772&postcount=13



    From the Crucial Configurator.
     
  4. creativet thread starter macrumors member

    creativet

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #4
  5. dasx macrumors 65816

    dasx

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Barcelona
    #5
    I noticed the same thing when changing my RAM today. Default RAM is 1.5V too.
     
  6. stellan0r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    #6
    If the SPD speed is 1333 MHz and the tested speed of a module is 1600 MHz at 1.5 Volts and CL11, the RAM will run at 1600 MHz, right? On a PC you can change the speed in the bios, which will probably not work on a Mini :)

    I'm confused about the speed thing because somewhere I read that e.g. the corsair vengeance ram which is sold as 1600 MHz is only "overclocked" 1333 MHz RAM.
     
  7. albert1028 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #7
    I noticed that Apple is using a new memory vendor than before. The japanese company Elpida is now a vendor.

    The 2012 Mac Mini 2GB Dimms are indeed 1.5V (Model EBJ20UF8BDU0-GN-F). There is a spec sheet on their website, along with those who are curious pin outs.

    Another interesting thing is that the DIMM sockets have in the plastic section labeled "1.5V"
     
  8. pxbr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    #8
    So what's that men for those of us ordering/installing the crucial 16gb kits that state 1.35v????
     
  9. zen macrumors 65816

    zen

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    #9
    1.35v will run fine - less heat, less power consumption.
     
  10. trajan2448 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #10
    Yes I have 16gb Crucial 1.35 in 2011 late MBP 17". Runs fine. No issues.
     
  11. pxbr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
  12. creativet thread starter macrumors member

    creativet

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #12
  13. dogmusic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Location:
    Ontario
    #13

Share This Page