About to buy my FIRST Mac..Need some advice!

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by JMies419, Aug 27, 2006.

  1. JMies419 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #1
    Hello All,

    I am brand new to Mac, only time I have really used one is in the Apple stores checking them out over the past month. Its either gonna be a macbook, or a macbook pro. Have not made my mind up yet. My question is RAM. I have NEVER updated RAM myself on any computer whatsoever. I want my system to have 2Gig's of ram, no question about that, but at the price Apple charges when you customize and build a computer just seems waaaaaaay over priced. My question is, if I KNOW for a fact I will be upgrading to 2Gig as soon as I get my notebook, is it smarter to order the computer with the 512mb of ram in it then go from there once I receive it? How hard is it to instal new ram on a macbook or macbook pro (Leaning more twords the macbook)? Is there a thread with detailed instructions on how to do it (pics included)? What do you guys think? School me, i'm a super newbie, as new as they get! Buy with the 512mb installed factory and instal upgrade myself or customize through Apple with the 2Gig? :confused:

    Thanks!!
     
  2. Alag28 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    #2
    99.9% of people will tell u to get 512mb and upgrade it personally to ur desired specs..but im going to be that.1% and say just get it from apple lol...i dont feel like opening up an expensive yet beautiful crafted machine.
     
  3. aye5882 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    #3
    upgrading the memory thru apple is hella expensive. i suggest just buying your own and installing it yourself. there's plenty of do it yourself guides out there.... just google it. i suggest buying thru newegg.com. i actually just purchased a pair of 1GB transcend memory from them a couple of hours ago for about $170. to make it even cheaper, sell the memory you took out of the macbook on ebay and use that money towards the aftermarket ram
     
  4. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #4
    There are numerous discussion threads on this issue.

    Installing your own RAM is considered an easy DIY upgrade.

    Generally, Datamem.com, OWC (macsales.com) and Crucial offer the best
    Apple guaranteed RAM pricing.

    You can save even more buying from bulk stock at Newegg, but they do not offer
    any specific Apple compatibility guarantee.

    Datamem.com lists a 2 GB kit ( 2 X 1GB ) @ $210.00

    Buy your MacBook with the stock RAM.

    If you want to spend extra for Samsung Apple Factory RAM, go to OWC

    1.0GB (1024MB) Samsung PC2-5300 DDR2 667MHz SO-DIMM 200 Pin Memory Module for MacBook Pro 15"&17" (Intel) 1.83GHz-2.16GHz Models, MacBook 1.83GHz-2.0GHz Models, iMac (Intel) 1.83GHz & 2.0GHz, Mac mini (Intel). Lifetime Warranty. Same modue Apple uses! (OWC53SDR2SAM1GB) $147.95
    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Samsung/53SDR2SAM1GB/

    [​IMG]

    You can see the notch in the RAM DIMM.
    There is no way to install the RAM upside down.

    You'll need clean hands and you must follow basic anti-static procedure while installing your RAM.

    All it takes is firm but careful pressure to insure that the RAM is properly seated.

    Turn your system back on and check the System Profiler to see if your new RAM shows up and you're done.
     
  5. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #5
    Good god man, don't do that!

    Hold onto the Apple RAM because if you ever have a hardware problem caused by RAM Apple won't cover you for repair. Take the ones you bought out and put the Apple stuff back in, check it, then send it away.

    Selling the Apple RAM is selling yourself up the river if you ever need tech support.
     
  6. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #6
    Agreed.

    Hold on to your original RAM.

    If you ever do need to run diagnostics or take it in for repairs, you'll want to send it in " AS SHIPPED " hardware wise.
     
  7. JMies419 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #7
    Will my applecare and warrenty be VOID as soon as I open the computer up to instal the new ram? Why would warrenty be void if you returned a faulty computer to Apple with new ram installed? I would imagine that apple could look into the system and see that at one point or another a ram update was made, even if you returned it to them with the factory ram installed? Or am I wrong? I have no clue, just trying to get some help. Is there a website or a thread that someone could link me to that shows where to open the computer up and things like that? Like I said I am BRAND new to Mac's..:(
     
  8. JMies419 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #8
    Also..I just thought of this..if you bought aftermarket ram from say newegg.com, would apple install it for you so that the warrenty would not VOID? I'm assuming probably not but hey you never know, someone may have had it done?
     
  9. radiantm3 macrumors 65816

    radiantm3

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #9
    Wow you guys pay a lot for ram. I just bought 2 gigs for my wife's macbook at the local Fry's for $150. It was $140 from their website, but $10 was worth instant gratification. :)
     
  10. macidiot macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    #10
    err, if your over the age of 10 and have the ability to use a screwdriver(ie. opposable thumbs), you can install the ram yourself. In about 5 minutes.

    It's not like your dismantling the computer to get to the bare motherboard. Your simply accessing the ram banks.

    And you save several hundred dollars from not buying from Apple.
     
  11. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #11
    No, your warranty and Apple Care would not be void, the RAM is user-replaceable. However, if that RAM causes a hardware problem or you damage something putting the RAM in then that specific problem won't be covered.

    If you hang onto the Apple RAM you simply swap it back in before you have it examined.
     
  12. Alag28 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    #12
    yea i know ur rite...but im lazy :) plus my computer just cost me $1350 with 1 gig of ram..so i was like ahh what da heck ring me up lady.
     
  13. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    No. RAM, like a hard drive, is a "customer-installable" component.
     
  14. JMies419 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #14
    This is probably a dumb question to but what the heck, you guys probably already think I am on a roll..So a majority of the aftermarket ram out there, such as crucial is just as good as apple's factory installed ram then?
     
  15. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #15
    You keep the original RAM just to rule out a problem with your RAM.
    Installing properly qualified 3rd party RAM will not void your warrantee.

    If you take your machine in for repair, you remove 3rd party RAM so that
    Apple knows it's not a 3rd party component causing your trouble.
     
  16. FFTT macrumors 68030

    FFTT

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    A Stoned Throw From Ground Zero
    #16
    Any RAM you buy for your machine should be 100% guaranteed for use with your
    particular Apple product and carry a lifetime warranty.

    Cheaper alternatives will work, but you still have to be careful.

    If the RAM you buy doesn't work, you may be stuck with return shipping
    and restocking fees.
     
  17. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #17
    The majority of the RAM out there is rubbish, and Windows users put up with it because Windows is crashy :p

    Mac users often pay more for "Mac-compatible" RAM, which tends to be better quality than the cheap stuff.

    Crucial sell Micron and Samsung RAM, the same brands that Apple use.
     
  18. JMies419 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #18
    Okay cool, i'm gonna order with 512mb ram, do the upgrade when I receive the computer and order the RAM. Thanks everyone, I appreciate the help! :D Now I guess I need to get the computer..and look and see where the new ram goes..because to tell you the truth, I dunno? HaHa :confused:
     
  19. macidiot macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    #19
    Crucial is fine. They are a major manufacturer (I think Micron). But they are currently kind of pricey.

    I bought techworks ram from Other World Computing. About $100 for a 1GB stick. And Techworks is a reputable outfit. I've been using their ram for years (as in thousands of dollars of ram). Never had a problem with them.

    Apple RAM is basically the same as crucial, samsung, micron, kingston, whoever. Just a lot more expensive. Put another way, an Apple harddrive, made by Seagate, Quantum, IBM, or whoever, isn't all that different from a drive with same specs from Seagate, Quantum, IBM, or whoever. Other than being more expensive.
     
  20. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #20
    It's not too hard.
     
  21. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #21
    RAM made by companies will have differences, but those differences are rarely noticable. People go with crucial because it its a reputable brand, who have a low fail rate. I've never had a problem with Apple's stock RAM (Hynix, I believe) or the RAM i get from Streetwise (Rambo).

    Generally RAM made by more reputable brands are less prone to problems such as kernel panics, but i've only had half a dozen panics on the several computers i have owned and used, and i've never used RAM from a big company.

    So to answer your question; buy RAM from an Apple Authorised Reseller, because they will only sell RAM which works in your Mac.
     
  22. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #22
    Just read the user manual when you open your new computer's box. There's a step-by-step guide on how to install RAM.
     
  23. JMies419 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2006
    #23
    This explains everything..haha it really is that easy. I have never done it so naturally I have been wondering. Thanks for the help everyone. I appreciaite it! :D
     
  24. solafekxela macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    #24
    Hey guys, sorry to change the subject a bit but I, too, am buying my first Mac, likely Macbook or Macbook Pro, and was planning on putting 1 gb ram in there. There's a chance that in a couple of years I'll want to run final cut on there but just basic stuff for now, depending on how happy I am with iMovie. Anyway, I really just want to know if you think 1 gb ram is enough for now. Thanks.
     
  25. Steve1496 macrumors 6502a

    Steve1496

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    #25

    Depends on your use. If you use many Rosetta apps (designed for PowerPC--like Microsoft Office), or plan to use Parallels to run XP, consider upgrading to 1.5. Otherwise, 1GB sounds good.
     

Share This Page