about to install Linux on iBook, any last min advice?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by TrenchMouth, Feb 13, 2005.

1. TrenchMouth macrumors 6502

I am currently migrating from the internal drive of my iBook to my externeal FW drive, which is a good move to begin with because it is faster. After that i am going to format and partition the internal drive and install a stripped down Panther on one and YellowDog Linux on the other. Anyone have any last minute advice that I might find useful?

I am on a 500Mhz G3 iBook, with 640MB and a 10Gig drive. I decided that I would throw Linux on here really just to get an idea about how to use it and whatnot. I do not plan on using it as my primary OS. I have little knowledge of how to actually use it so this will pretty much be a learning from the beginning sort of thing. should be cool i think.

Thanks in advance for any advice. How about a link to places where there are programs for linux on Mac...as i am not sure what to even search for, i would imagine that any program writen for an x86 version of linux would have to be recompiled for PPC. again, this is all new to me.

2. TrenchMouth thread starter macrumors 6502

btw

the reason i didnt put this in either the hardware or software sections is because i think it is a nice mix, and does not go either way too much. if you have info about how to better set up the hardware i would love to hear that too.

3. varmit macrumors 68000

varmit

I would use OS X to partition, and install OS X on the first partition first, then install linux on the next partition second and have it write the mbr so you can dual boot. Then everything else should be fine, I did the same thing you are doing with my iBook. Then use the firewire drive for storage so you can share the info between OS X and Linux.

4. TrenchMouth thread starter macrumors 6502