About to pull the trigger, last minute advice.

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mejalx, Jan 24, 2007.

1. mejalx macrumors newbie

Jan 24, 2007
    So, I've been haggling around all week trying to decide what kind of notebook I should buy. I currently have a Sager 9880 dubbed 'the beast' because the damn thing weighs like 14lbs including the AC adapter.

I'm a Computer Science student, part-time programmer, avid linux user and I'm in dire need of a light laptop, because the beast isn't working out for me. I just leave it planted on my desk at home, because that thing isn't getting hauled around.

First of all, I read great things about OS X, but how long will it really take me to adapt and become productive coming from a linux environment? I'm planning to put Fedora on there with bootcamp as well.

Secondly, I heard that OS X leopard is coming out, are there going to be new hardware features with that too? Waiting for the release isn't really an option for me, because I need something now, but that may sway my decision on getting a Mac.

Thirdly, is there anything else I should be wary of? This being my first apple system, and I've usually been quite Anti-Apple/Anti-Microsoft, I'm just a little scared to get my feet wet and possibly blow $1.4k on something I might hate. I highly doubt this will be the case though, so reassure me!

2. livingfortoday macrumors 68030

Nov 17, 2004
    The Msp
    I think you'll be very happy. There are numerous people on these boards who use Linux as well as OS X, and it seems to be quite easy going from one to the other. *I* personally prefer the simple side of OS X, but there are a lot of ways to dig in deep and get your hands dirty, if you so choose.