Access Forbidden!

Discussion in 'Site and Forum Feedback' started by someguy, Apr 14, 2006.

  1. someguy macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #1
    I cannot access ANY forum related page at MR from my Mac, yet my PC works fine. I cleared the cache in FF and Safari and tried with both browsers, no dice. Any help?
     
  2. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #2
    Looks like your IP may be banned... :eek:

    do you spam up the forums?
     
  3. someguy thread starter macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #3
    No. Besides, this computer works fine and both are on the same connection.

    Update: Suddenly working. No explanation as to why... :confused:
     
  4. zach macrumors 65816

    zach

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Location:
    Medford
    #4
    no, his IP wouldn't be banned, because in all likelyhood he's got the same external IP to his mac and PC.

    more likely some sort of weird OS X issues.

    OP: what exactly happens when you try to visit forums.macrumors.com on your Mac?
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    Hmm, open up Terminal and type "cat /etc/hosts". It should return the following:

    ##
    # Host Database
    #
    # localhost is used to configure the loopback interface
    # when the system is booting. Do not change this entry.
    ##
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    255.255.255.255 broadcasthost
    ::1 localhost

    If it's different, let me know.
     
  6. someguy thread starter macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #6
    Working fine now, I'm not really sure what was going on but all is well. Thanks for the help though. :)
     
  7. mjstew33 macrumors 601

    mjstew33

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois
    #7
    Just wondering, how long was this happening?
     
  8. someguy thread starter macrumors 68020

    someguy

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Location:
    Still here.
    #8
    No idea. I was surfing on my PC and switched over to the PB to do some in-bed-while-watching-tv surfing and it just wouldn't work.
     
  9. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #9
    It sounds like a transient DNS error that got cached on the Mac for a while. There's really no good way to check after the fact, though.
     

Share This Page