Accessing an External Hard Drive connected to my Mini

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by infinity4ever, Jan 21, 2006.

  1. infinity4ever macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #1
    I recently bought a Mac Mini and a Lacie 250 gb harddrive that connects via a firewire. I want to be able to access the external harddrive from my PC, but I haven't been able to figure out how. I can see my Mini from my PC and I can see my PC on my Mini. I am new to MAC, so I appoligize if I use the wrong terminology.

    My thought was that I could put my iTunes library and my photos on the external harddrive and have access to these from both computers.

    Any suggestions or help will be greatly appreciated :)

    Thanks!
     
  2. excalibur313 macrumors 6502a

    excalibur313

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    #2
    How is the drive formatted? You need to have it as a MS-DOS in disk utility for both computers to read it. Otherwise if it is journaled then windows will just ask you if you want to format it.
     
  3. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #3
    I think this is only needed if you want to actually plug the disk into a pc, but not if you want to read it over the network. The Mac will act as a file server if connected over the network, and will do the format translation.

    Do you have both Personal File Sharing and Windows Sharing checked in System Preferences/Sharing? I think that is all that should be needed to see the files from your pc.
     
  4. infinity4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #4
    Yes, I have both the Personal File Sharing and Windows sharing checked. The only thing I did with the hard drive is connect it to the mac mini. Then I copied my iTunes from my PC and my photos directly from the PC as I can see the shared files. I just can't see this drive from my PC :(
     
  5. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #5
    1. On your PC, what version of Windows are you running? If XP, try the following:

    -Start > My Network Places

    -Look at the left column. Look for a link that says View Workgroup Computers

    -Assuming you are using the default group, MSHOME, click that and it might take a few minutes.

    -If everything is working properly, you should see your Mac in addition to any other computers on your network.

    -Click your Mac, and then it should ask for a user/pass, enter those, and if permissions are set properly, you should be presented with a listing of files and folders.

    -Find the Volumes folder, open it, and you should see your firewire drive listed. Right-click on that, and hover over Send To...> then select "Send to Desktop (create shortcut)"

    Hope this works!
     
  6. infinity4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #6

    I don't have a volumes folder. I looked through all the folders but I don't see one named volumes :(
     
  7. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #7

    Can you post a screengrab? (Press Prt Scrn, open Paint from Start > Accessories, and then save and upload somewhere and post the img here). Chances are you may be within your user account's directory. Have you tried navigating higher at all?
     
  8. infinity4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #8
    Ok I put it out on my .mac site

    http://homepage.mac.com/melrush/PhotoAlbum3.html
     
  9. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #9
  10. infinity4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #10

    I get 2 icons melodierush and Printers and faxes.
     
  11. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #11
    Alright, try this instead:

    1. Start > Run

    2. Type: \\nameofyourmini\

    3. You should be prompted for a password, and this should list the root directory.

    Let me know what this does.
     
  12. infinity4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #12
    I tried it and got the same thing as before. It does ask me for a user name and I put in mine, so I think it is taking me to the same level. Is there a way to log on the mini without logging on as a user? Or do I need to set up a different account to log on?

    Thanks for all your help!
     
  13. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #13
    If you want to share anything other than your home folder, the easiest way is to use SharePoints to share your External HDD.

    PS. you will have much better luck after this mapping a drive on your Windows machine to \\ipaddress\sharename rather than using the machine name

    For example, map \\192.168.1.100\external where external is the share name you chose in SharePoints
     
  14. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #14
    There's a step I'm forgetting here, but for the life of me I can't recall what it is. Perhaps try:

    1. Start > Run

    2. Type: \\mini\Volumes\

    And see if that does anything. Also, make sure the account you're using as admin access.
     
  15. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #15
    Don't mislead the guy...you won't be able to see the Volumes folder unless you configure your mac to share that folder which is accomplished by either hacking the smb.conf file or using SharePoints.
     
  16. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #16
    I never had to do that and was able to access mine just fine...for instance, open an SSH connection to your mac, and once you login with your user and passwd:

    type: cd /
    press enter
    type: ls
    press enter

    I bet you'll see your Volumes folder.
     
  17. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #17
    SSH is different than SMB...SFTP is different than SMB....SCP is different than SMB - all three of these protocols will allow you to browse your entire machine. But when you mount a drive in Windows or Browse your network you aren't using any of these protocols.
     
  18. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #18
    Yes, thank you, I understand the differences between the protocols. However, my point was that I CAN access the Volumes folder from my PC, and I did not do any special hacking other than what was needed to be able to access both machines from each other, respectively.
     
  19. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #19
    Ok, well thats not the default behavior. When you setup Windows sharing , ONLY your home folder is shared, unless you config it otherwise which is why SharePoints exists since most people don't like to muck around with config files.
     
  20. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #20
    Ahh...I followed this guide when I first got my mac and was a total newbie, perhaps this changed the default behavior: http://guides.macrumors.com/Networking_Windows_with_Mac_OS_X
     
  21. infinity4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #21
    I've tried all that has been suggested but still can't see it. I'm a newbie to Mac, so what is sharepoints?

    Thanks.
     
  22. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #22
    See post #13
     
  23. infinity4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #23
    Thanks! I got a little overwhelmed with all the info! I downloaded it and it worked! Thanks, I can now see my drive. Is there any gotchas I should be aware of? Mostly I just want access to my iTunes and photos :)
     
  24. infinity4ever thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #24
    ok, one follow-up questions, somewhat related. I would like for iPhotos to automatically put my photos on my external harddrive. How do I change the default location? I know this must be fairly easy to do, but I haven't found a way.

    Thanks!
     
  25. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #25
    You will need to create a symlink to point at your iPhoto Library on the external.

    First, move ~/Pictures/iPhoto Library to your external hard drive.

    Second, rename (or move) the iPhoto Library folder in your home folder to something/someplace else, don't delete it quite yet.

    Third create a symlink using Terminal

    ln -s /Volumes/External/iPhoto\ Library ~/Pictures/iPhoto\ Library

    where External is the name of your External drive as mounted in the filesystem

    Once you confirm everything is working feel free to delete the original Library Folder.
     

Share This Page