Accidentally deleted all "login" items in Keychain

Discussion in 'macOS' started by swindmill, Aug 29, 2006.

  1. swindmill macrumors 6502a

    swindmill

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    KY
    #1
    I accidentally deleted all of keychain items; is there a way to undo this?
     
  2. coastertux macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    #2
    Not unless you made a backup before you deleted them...sorry. :(
     
  3. swindmill thread starter macrumors 6502a

    swindmill

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    KY
    #4
    Keychain is where all of your passwords are stored.

    Looks like I have a lot of remembering to do . . . :(
     
  4. baummer macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Southern California
    #5
    Ummm...how did you "accidentally delete" ALL of your keychain items? It asks you if you're sure you want to delete....and if you don't have a backup of those items, I'm afraid you're SOL.
     
  5. Teddy's macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Location:
    Toronto
    #6
    Wording is so stupid

    The wording for that is so stupid. I guess it is the only part of mac os x where I find myself confused.
    It is something like:
    You updated this app, do you want that the new version access the current keychain or not? some bla bla yada yada... and then there are two choices but neither one is Yes and No. This is when panic starts.
    One choice translates to delete and the other keep. But I don't know which one is which.
    The last time it happened I closed my eyes. The good thing is that I have a .mac account and I keep my keychains backed up... I think.
     

Share This Page