Accidentally installed XP over OSX and now stuck

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by LittleJoe, Jun 2, 2006.

  1. LittleJoe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Worthington, OH
    #1
    What the title says... In a rush (and fit of stupidity) I installed XP on what must have been the OSX partition and now the computer only boots up in XP. I put in the OSX install disc and I get nothing.

    Help :(

    (computer listed below)
     
  2. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #2
    You'll need to format the drive.

    Insert the install disk, reboot, and hold the 'C' key to cause it to boot off the DVD.

    Once that comes up, one of the options is to format the drive. Do that, then reinstall OS X, then redo Boot Camp... if you really need XP.
     
  3. lexus macrumors 68000

    lexus

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Location:
    Depends Greatly On The Weather
    #3
    Dont worry you will have all your data still.
     
  4. LittleJoe thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Worthington, OH
    #4
    Im in the middle of reinstalling OSX... the odd thing was that the partition i had originally put aside for windows had abut 4 gigs of used disc space... and my machd still had the same amount as it originally had.

    So did I actually install it on the right partition? When I started the computer though it would boot straight into windows. So I dunno... kind of confusing. The install should be done in a few mins though... I guess well see.
     
  5. Abulia macrumors 68000

    Abulia

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Location:
    Kushiel's Scion
    #5
    You may be formatting for no reason.

    By default, when you install Boot Camp and Windows, the default OS is Windows. (Strange, I know.)

    Did you ever hold down the ALT key at boot to see the bootloader and make sure OS X was there?
     
  6. LittleJoe thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Worthington, OH
    #6

    Oy... the woes of a switcher. I ended up just choosing the "upgrade" option to play it safe. And ive got OSX booted up identically as it as before. And what do you know... there sits UNTITLED (drive) on my desktop with all the windows files.

    :rolleyes: what a noob. ok.... so alt key HAS to be pressed to choose the os when booting? ok... lets reboot and see if bootcamp will work.
     
  7. LittleJoe thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    Worthington, OH
    #7
    Thank you my friends... everything works peachy now. I guess I spent the pas two hours learning how to press ALT on start up

    :D
     
  8. etoiles macrumors 6502a

    etoiles

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Location:
    Where the air is crisp
    #8
    ...and remember that system preferences lets you define which OS loads up by default
     

Share This Page